West of Ireland Women’s 10k in Ballina

The West of Ireland Women’s 10k (aka Mini Marathon) returned to Ballina for the second year today. It’s the “biggest women’s only sporting event in the West” according to the organisers.
The original purpose of this annual event was to create a fun day, encouraging people to get out, get fit and enjoy the company of other women.
The 10k race is open to serious athletes, fun runners and walkers. Conditions were excellent for running, though a 15°C plus temperature and hardly a flag stirring made it a challenging day for some.
The measured course starts at Market Square, a technical 2k around the town centre either side of the river Moy, and 8k out of town via the Killala road with the finish on Tone Street.
Mayo AC athletes have been dominant in the event since it’s inception and today was no exception – a good turnout of  Mayo AC competitors enjoyed the brilliant atmosphere created by runners and supporters. It was another successful day for our runners as Colette Tuohy 1st W50 and Mags Glavey 1st W70 were among the category prizewinners, and 8 finished in the top 30.
Three Mayo natives took the top three places in the race.
Aughagower native Ellen Moran GCH was the clear winner in 37:42. She’s a previous winner of the event when it was held in Castlebar in 2022 and ran 36:57. Ellen was almost a minute outside the 2023 course record by Norah Newcombe Pieterse 36:47.
Two Ballina natives were next home. Sinéad Whitelaw Mullingar Harriers AC was second in 38:47, and
Serena Tuffy Dundrum South Dublin AC finished third in 39:04. Both finished the race in the same order as they did in 2023.
Colette Tuohy led the Mayo AC finishers home in an excellent 7th place in 41:50, 1st W50. She was followed closely by Donna Gallagher 8th and 2nd W40 in 42:23, and Eimear Fitzmaurice 9th and 3rd W40 in 43:35.

Great running also by these Mayo AC finishers, :

12 Dee Finnegan 45 00 (47:19) last year.

17 Ruth Carney 46:18

25 Lucy Tuohy 47:19

29 Breege Blehein 47:45

30 Ann McDonnell 47:46

42 Karen Devaney 49:24

43 Mags Glavey 1st W70 49:33

92 Helen Ingoldsby 53:30

Regina Kiernan 1:03.59

Let us know if there are any members omitted pro@mayoac.com

More photos later.


The top three women lead the field out on River Moy circuit 1st Ellen Moran, 2nd Sinéad Whitelaw, 3rd Sinéad Tuffy



Upcoming Events