Well done to Mayo AC finishers in National Half Marathon (updated)

A group of Mayo AC competitors gather before the 8am start

The 7th Annual Rock n Roll Dublin Half Marathon incorporated the National Championships. The race started at 8am at Fitwilliam Square. The course is mainly flat over the early miles through Kilmainham, before turning back and entering the Phoenix Park and a tough second half via the familiar terrain of the Khyber Pass and on to the finish line on Chesterfield Avenue. 

As one of our finishers says,
“tough enough course with a lot of hills in the last 4 miles after a lovely long downhill from 8-9m. Absolutely blessed with weather – perfect for running nice temperature and a gentle breeze”.
Mayo AC were represented by 24 members competing in teams and as individuals for national medals.
For some it was their first time at these championships while many are experienced competitors. Fourteen of the squad ran in this race last year and many of them improved on their 2018 times. All 24 runners trained hard and committed to represent our club.
As in recent years, our core strength for medals rests with masters women, and they seem to be well in contention for individual and team medals again in 2019.

All of our finishers earned club league points and tables will be updated soon and finalised as this was the last league event.

Well done to them all on a great club performance and some brilliant individual achievements.

Newcomers John Higgins and Sean Hynes led them home, John in a brilliant pb 74:29 – 21st overall, with Sean 85:36, John Nolan 85:40, Mark Basquille 87:44, while Colette Tuohy was our first woman in an excellent 88:03.

Times given are from Rock ‘n Roll results, there may be a disparity with official results when Athletics Ireland publish.

 all finish times as currently Athletics Ireland published – 

Senior men

John Higgins 74:29
Sean Hynes  1:26.02
Mark Basquille M40 1:27.51
Brendan Murphy M45 1:31.09
John Nolan M45 1:25.40
Brian Derrig M35 1:45.02
Darren Brewer M40 1:30.30
Anthony Corbett M35 1:40.34
James Murtagh M55 1:55.27
John Nyland M50 1:51.12*
Stephen Skillington M55 1:43.11
Eugene McCartan M50 1:49.58
Finian Joyce M60 2:02.10
Colette Tuohy W50 1:28.10
Mary Murphy W65 2:02.56
Pauline Moran W60 1:33.00
Monica Joyce W55 1:51.57
Mags Glavey W65 1:47.07
Janette Webb W50 2:11.59
Elaine Patterson W55 2:18.47
Ann McDonnell W40 1:50.13
Mags Connell W40 1:53.33
Eileen Crowley W45 2:05.44
Edel Feeney W35 1:56.08
Colette McTigue W45 2:22.09
Patricia Nyland W45 2:22.39

Upcoming Events