Weekend roundup :Roscommon 10, NI masters and National Senior T&F

There was some great running by a group of Mayo AC members over in Roscommon on Saturday (June 29).

They competed in Roscommon Harriers AC 9th annual 10 Mile.

The race is part of the Peugeot Race Series in conjunction with Pop up Races with a start and finish at Hannon’s Hotel, Roscommon Town.

The race took place on the outskirts of Roscommon Town on a fast, flat route. Wet conditions didn’t dampen the enthusiasm of nearly 450 participants.
 Well done to our first finisher Tadgh Hanrahan who ran 1:00.20 to finish 15th overall and 3rd M40 – two minutes faster than his 2023 time – and an excellent new personal best for the distance. Tadgh ran 1:00.32 in the Mallow 10 last March.
Well done also to these other Mayo AC finishers
Neil Carroll 1:03.07
Brendan Murphy 1:11.27
Donna Gallagher 1:11.30 4th F40
Mags Glavey 1:21.08 3rd F60
Erika Ryan 1:24.07
Martin Fitzmaurice 1:30.07
Justin McDonagh 1:32.27
First across the line in Roscommon was Killian Mooney Dundrum South Dublin AC 52:21, with Niamh Moore Leevale AC first woman in 59:09
Also on Saturday, the Northern Ireland Masters Track and Field Championships took place at the Mary Peters Track, Belfast.
Congratulations to John Walkin who won bronze M40 100m in 12:94, and silver 200m in 26:96. John is recovering from injury, so he got a good measure on his condition and form as he prepares for the National Masters Championships in Tullamore August 4.
The National Senior Track and Field Championships took place at Morton Stadium Dublin over the weekend.
Mayo AC results :
In the senior women’s sprints on Sat June 29 Claudia Davey competed in 200m heat 1 finishing in 28:99 – but did not progress to the next stage.
On Sunday June 30 she ran in the first heat of the 100m finishing in 14:08.
Rhasidat Adeleke Tallaght AC won the heat in 11:54, and went on to win the final in 11:13 – a new National Record.
She now holds every Irish sprint record, indoors and outdoors, from 60m to 400m.
Unfortunately Claudia sustained an injury while competing in the morning’s 100m heat, and was unable to join Declan Owens, Angela McVann and Mikey McAndrew for the Mixed Relay 4x400m. As the team had no substitute they did not make the start.
Well done to them all for making the trip to compete, and Claudia recovers soon.

The warm up –  Rhasidat Adeleke Tallaght AC with Claudia Davey on right, at the finish of heat 1 of women’s 100m. Adeleke ran 11.13 to win the final and break the National Record. (screenshot Athletics Ireland TV)

Upcoming Events