Warriors, Claregalway 10k, Ballina 10 results (updated)

There were almost 900 finishers in the Annual Warriors Run up and around Knocknarea on Saturday afternoon (August 25).  Starting and finishing at sea level at Strandhill the course heads out and up the limestone hill of Knocknarea circling Queen Maeve’s stone cairn.

The elevation here is 327 metres. Then it’s back down along the other side to the finish completing 15k approximately.

Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC)  was the winner in 54:44 and Deirdre Byrne was first woman home in 65:01.
 Well done to Mayo AC warriors: Evin McHale 73:00, Padraic McVann 74:08, Clive Lavelle 79:49, Greg Barry 86:50, Karen Devaney 94:02, Angela McVann 98:16, Ann McDonnell 1:47.24.
On Saturday evening (August 25) Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC) had three minutes to spare in winning the Claregalway 10k in 30:27. Regina Casey (GCH) won the women’s race in 37:39. Well done to Mayo AC runners Darren Brewer 39:16 – two and a half minutes faster than 2017, Keith Holland 41:48 – 30 seconds better than his time last year, Catherina Diskin Hunt 61:54, Kathleen Kennedy 63:01.  200 finishers.
On Sunday August 26: Ballina Wild Atlantic 10 mile.

Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) won the race in 55:42. He finished 11th yesterday in the Warriors Run in 62:24. Serena Tuffy (Ballina AC) was first woman 18th overall in 70:28.

Congratulations to John Byrne our top finisher in second place just 20 seconds behind Canty in 56:03.
Well done to our other Mayo AC finishers :
Donna Gallagher 82:51 (apologies for not including Donna in original post)
Neil Carroll 71:54,
Martin Fitzmaurice 86:06,
Michael McNeela 69:23, 15th
Elaine Hession 89:51
Catrina Houlihan 97:31,
Eamonn Joyce 64:46, 7th
Anne Cunnane 1:41.29
Karen Clancy 87:01,
Claire Murphy 94:44,
Ambrose Gaughan 73:36,
Eugene McCartan 89:56,
Justin McDonagh 85:02,
Tony O’Malley 72:49
Bernice McCartan 97:31
Peter Feerick 80:04,
Natasha Kelly 83:17.
(144 finishers) results  Provisional Wild Atlantic

Upcoming Events