Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k/5k results

The 44th Annual Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k was excellently hosted and organised by South Sligo AC.  Conditions were cold, wet and blustery around the traditional one lap testing course.

They did not deter an excellent turnout who braved the elements, and particularly over the final three kilometres into the wind.

JP Carty 32:51 and Sara Doohan 37:54 were the clear race winners. Mayo AC’s Pauline Moran was first woman home in the over 60 category in an excellent 44:12. Well done also to our seven other finishers. There were 178 finishers in the 10k and 197 in a 5k.

Lead organiser Gerry Lee thanked the many local sponsors and all who helped out with 10k and 5k events. He said funds raised will go to the development of
athletics facilities and activities for the local community.. The event also supports two charities SHOUT (Sligo Oncology Unit) and the Kevin Bell Trust

o60 winner Pauline Moran heads home at 7k

10k Prizewinners:

Men 1 JP Carty (Sligo AC) 32:51, 2 Emmet Dunleavy 33:43, 3 Rossa Hurley (Donore Harriers) 33:56
o40 Craig Brennan (North Sligo AC) 34:36
o50 Eamonn Murphy (N Sligo AC) 37:10
o60 Philip Morrison (Sligo AC) 43:53
Team : North Sligo AC
Women: 1 Sara Doohan (Corran AC) 37:54, 2 Lucy Brennan (Sligo AC) 40:13, 3 Mari Johnston (Sligo AC) 41:55
o40 Patricia McCuskar (Sligo AC) 42:48
o50 Cathy McCarthy (Sligo AC) 47:23
o60 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 44:12
Team: Sligo AC
Other Mayo AC 10k finishers: Michael McNeela 41:37, Padraic McVann 41:54, PJ Hall 46:58, John Jennings 47:04, Christy O’Malley 56:27
5k Men 1, Michael McDermott 16:59, Women 1 Abigail Colleran (GCH)
Mayo AC finishers Anne Marie Lyons 25:20, Catherine Diskin Hunt 31:03

Upcoming Events