Tubbercurry Results, Report and Pictures

The recipe for the success of the Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k over the past 38 years is based on tradition. Participants receive a genuine Céad Míle Fáilte at Tom and Annie Killoran’s Teeling St headquarters. (Picture above: Annie Killoran on Annual duty for 38th Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k). The event is free from grandiosity or any other ‘divarshin’ which allows town and country enjoy a real celebration of sporting activity across the whole spectrum of age categories ..a reality roadshow. Add to this, the post race refreshments, lashings of tea, apple tarts,sandwiches and an entry fee of €10, prizes and spots, and you have further proof of the pudding.

Thanks to Michael O’Connell Sligo, for these pictures:

[nggallery id=27]

This year it was the first race in the inaugural Sligo AC Road League, which comprises 8 races between now and October. There was an excellent turnout of 160 this year in ideal conditions. Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) was the clear winner in a personal best time of 32.50. He has gained in strength from a winter of successful cross-country and is looking forward to a good run in the Boston Marathon next month. Second placed John Byrne came to the race with a
lot of training miles in his legs as he prepares to run as part of the Irish team at the Anglo-Celt cup 100k next week-end in Scotland.

The women’s race was won by Roseanne Mitchell (Sligo AC) in 40.31. Roseanne is in brilliant form recently, a regular race competitor and leading lady in the F40 category. Mayo AC picked up a number of the category prizes as can be seen from the results summary and many tested their form in preparation for the National 10k on April 10.
Among the other club finishers, Brendan Hession’s improving form stood out as his 40.29 time was a PB. Other finishers were Kevin Mellet 34.57 in 6th, Anto Devanney 35.26 – 9th, Brendan Gill 37.18, Michael McNeela 40.02,
Ronnie Naylor 40.05, Dominic Regan 40.49, Owen Mongan 44.03, Christy O’Malley 44.23, Michael McGrath 44.49, Michael Ruane 47.25, Chris O’Connell 49.08, and Una McGrath 52.19

38th Tubbercurry 10k Prizewinners
Senior men
1 Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) 32.50
2 John Byrne (Mayo AC) 33.40
3 Feilim McGowan (Sligo AC) 34.12

1 Paul Ward (Tir Chonaill AC) 34.19
1 Billy Gallagher (Mayo AC) 39.28
1 Tom Hunt (Mayo AC) 40.11

1. North Sligo 27
2 Mayo AC 49

Senior women:
1 Roseanne Mitchell (Sligo AC) 40.31
2 Elaine Williams Local             41.12
3 Mari Johnson (Sligo AC) 41.21

Cindy McCarthy (Sligo AC) 43.53
Ann Murray (Mayo AC) 44.34
Mary Naylor (Mayo AC)

Team 1 Sligo AC

Ist Local man James Lawrence 40.26, woman Lorraine Hosey 47.13

Results from today’s 10k in Tubbercurry 

[Download not found]

Upcoming Events