Tuam 8k results

Some of our happy and warm Tuam 8k finishers

Some of our happy and warm Tuam 8k finishers

Conditions were tough for the 12th Annual Tuam 8k today. For many this race is one of the best of the West’s early season tests. Persistent rain swept across Connacht but lightened off for the race. However, a chilly headwind on the early kilometres along open sections of the course made it difficult for the 387 finishers. GCH swept the board taking five of the six top men/women podium prizes.

Winner Gary Thornton was 12 seconds faster than last year in 24:22. He’s aiming for a good time in the 36th Rotterdam Marathon (it’s on the same day as the National 10k – April 10) and edge into the top four Irish men for Rio Olympics. Well done to our trainer Matt Bidwell second in 25:54 repeating his 2015 finish place and time.
Regina Casey put down a good 2016 marker with an improvement of 26 seconds on her winning 2015 time. There was a good turnout from Mayo AC and we had two prizewinners – well done to PJ Hall who won the M55 category in 35:55 and to Geraldine Heneghan the W55 winner in 44:06. Breege Staunton was delighted with her 40:14 finish  – it was two minutes faster than her previous 8k  time at Carnacon last year. Laura Heneghan ran 36:19 almost half a minute faster than her Tuam 2015 finish. Other Mayo AC finishers included:   Matthew Gill 31:07, James Malone 32:47, Tom Charles 33:46, Tom Hunt 34:20, Ger Fahy 38:07, Caroline Allworthy 38:10,  Annmarie Clarke 39:08, Geraldine Murphy 41:33, Chris O’Connell 41:41, Christy O’Malley 42:45, Maria Kneafsey 43:37, Jennifer Charles 48:15, Helena McNamara 50:50

The Tuam AC did a great job once again – well done Brendan Monaghan race organiser and his team.

Tuam 8k, (387 finishers) http://www.redtagtiming.com/results/Tuam8km_2016.pdf

Men: 1 Gary Thornton (GCH) 24.22, 2 Matt Bidwell (GCH, M40) 25.54, 3 Michael O’Connor (GCH, M40) 27.10. M45: Tom Prendergast (Craughwell) 30.11. M50: Ryszard Kobaljo 30.00. M60: Martin Kearney (GCH) 30.30. M65: Martin McEvilly 31.47.

Women: 1 Regina Casey (GCH) 29.09, 2 Zola Flynn (Calry AC ) 31.43, 3 Clare Rowe (GCH, W40) 31.47.

Crossmolina 5k: Well done to Ann Murray (Mayo AC)  – first woman home in 22:01. Men 1 Brian Mullen (Ardagh) 19:37, 2 Henry Mcloughlin 19:38, 3 Richie Shelly (Ballina) 20:39. Women: 2  Helena Kearns (Ballina AC) 23:08, 3 Sinead Walsh 24:50

Upcoming Events