Tuam 8k, Belfast XC, new track session, 2019 registration

A number of members competed in Tuam this afternoon as the local AC hosted their 15th annual 8k.

The course starts and finishes on the Dublin Road, and is over one lap, with five kilometres out on rural roads.
Many of the 303 finishers (well up on 2018) were putting down an early season marker for 2019. Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham AC) was the clear winner in 24:59, ahead of last year’s winner Eamon McAndrew

(North Sligo AC) second in 27:17.

Regina Casey (GCH) was the equally emphatic winner of the women’s race in another fast time 29:03 ahead of Deirdre Galvin (Westport AC) –  second in 31:44. Well done to Colette Tuohy who came third in 31:48, another podium finish and a great start to the year.

Well done also to Mayo AC listed finishers – Sean Hynes 15th in 29:57,Tony O’Malley in 24th place in 31:08, over 40 seconds better than last year and 4th M45; Patrick Walsh 33:04, Ambrose Gaughan 34:29, Owen Mongan 36:31 and 1st M60, Noelle Kilduff 42:04.

Our men’s team Sean, Tony,  Patrick, Ambrose, Owen finished 4th club.
Tuam 8k results:
The IAAF Northern Ireland International  Cross Country  took place on Saturday January 19 at the Billy Neill Centre of Excellence, Belfast
Both international races were dominated by African athletes. They took the podium positions in both the men’s 10,000 and women’s 8,000 metres events.
There was a very impressive return to racing by Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole AC) finishing 6th in 27:24, over a minute and half ahead of Laura Shaughnessy (DSD) in 21st place. Laura was the course record winner of the Fields of Athenry 10k recently.
A couple of West of Ireland runners competed in the men’s race: Niall Murphy (GCH) M50 59th in 38:33, and Robert Malseed (Westport AC) M45, 62nd in 41:16.
Men’s race won in 29:52; 63 finishers.
Read all about it :


 An additional track session for Mayo AC members  will start on Monday evening January 21 at St Mary’s track at Castlebar GMIT. It will be led by Matt Bidwell and run from 7pm-8pm. Please support to ensure this initiative is a permanent training location.

Track sessions will continue as normal in Claremorris each Thursday night.

Entry fee is €2 at both venues.

Club registration for 2019 is open – details on homepage button.

You are reminded to renew your membership now, former members welcome to re-register, and new members always welcome.

Upcoming Events