Travers triumphs in Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k

Top three head out Teeling St in Tubbercurry 10k : l-r Jake O’Regan, 2nd, winner John Travers and Rossa Hurley (337) 3rd

The recipe for the success of the Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k over the past 45  years is based on tradition. Participants receive a genuine Céad Míle Fáilte at Tom and Annie Killoran’s Teeling St event headquarters. These days days the race is excellently hosted by local club South Sligo AC.

Over 100 volunteers led by Gerry Lee ensured the 450 runners in the two races on St Patrick’s Day were well looked after on and off the course. Numbers have been exponentially increasing in recent years with the aid of South Sligo AC’s successful 5k programme. Conditions were tough on the one lap course with a chilly head wind until after the 7k mark where the field turned for home and the classic finish at the Square. There was an excllent turnout of club runners with seventeen ACs represented on the startline for the 10k.

John Travers put on a great display of front running and cruised around the testing course to win easily in 31:24.
Last month his time of 3:59.40 saw him become the first Irishman to break 4:00 in Ireland for the men’s mile at Athlone International Athletics Grand Prix

Teresa Doherty (Finn Valley) was the impressive winner of the women’s race in a fast 35:49. Sara Doohan ran strongly for second 38:24, ahead of Heather Foley 38:43.

John Byrne M40 winner, on the hill up to 9k mark

John Byrne has had many podium finishes in this race over the past twenty years. It’s testament to his consistent form that he won this race twelve years ago in 2006 in 33:05, This year he was just a minute outside that time a brilliant fourth overall,  and our first finisher in 34:11. Although finding himself a bit isolated at times he stuck in with familiar tenacity and won the M40 category. Well done also to our other prizewinner David Dinsmore who was running Tubbercurry  for the first time and came home first M60 in a hard earned 43:45.

It was a real celebration of sporting activity across the whole spectrum of age categories ..a reality roadshow. Add to this, the post race refreshments, lashings of tea, apple tarts,  cakes and sandwiches and prizes, and you have further proof of the pudding.
As part of South Sligo AC’s “Give something back” policy the club will donate a percentage of the proceeds to Gallagher House, Tubbercurry which celebrates 30 years in 2018. It’s another major initiative and achievement by Annie Killoran – a towering inspiration in the local community.

Tubbercurry 10k prizewinners:
Men 1 John Travers (Donore Harriers) 31:34, 2 Jake O’ Regan (St John’s AC) 32:51, 3 Rossa Hurley (Donore Harriers) 33:07
M40 1 John Byrne (Mayo AC)  34:11
M50 1 Eamon Murphy (N Sligo AC) 36:49
M60 1 David Dinsmore (Mayo AC) 43:45
Women 1 Teresa Doherty (Finn Valley AC) 35:49, 2 Sara Doohan ( Corran AC) 38:24, 38:433 Heather Foley (North Sligo AC)
W40 Michelle Lannon (Carrick on Shannon AC 40:19
W50 Mari Johnston  (Sligo AC) 40:27
North Sligo AC won both the men’s and women’s team prizes

David Dinsmore 1st M60

Well done to our other Mayo AC finishers who worked hard to put down a creditable early season marker: Sarah Byrne 42:14,  Padraic McVann 43:43, Tom Jennings 44:30, Ann Murray 48:38, PJ Hall 48:38, Paul Damron 48:49, Justin McDonagh 48:55,  Angela McVann 49:40, Tracy Cunnane 53:52, Anne Cunnane 60:26

Three members went over to the flatlands of Westmeath for the Mullingar Half. Well done to Pauline Moran who won the W60 category in a great time 1:37.44, and Brendan Murphy who came home in 1:27.29, and Ambrose Gaughan finished in 1:43.01.

Upcoming Events