Swinford AC 3/4 Marathon, 5k results

Sheelagh McDonnell on her way to finish line in 2:49.

Throughout 2019 Swinford have been celebrating 250 and more years as a bustling market town in the heart of East Mayo.

Drenched in history, Swinford has a rich cultural heritage dating back to 1769 and beyond.
Swinford AC continued that celebration today with their inaugural ¾ Marathon, relay and 5k.

The races got underway at 10am. A misty morning warmed up to give excellent running conditions. The ¾ Marathon course described by some as ‘a pan handle attached to a butterfly’ was over one lap, in and out on the first 6k with a contra flow of 200m in the middle – generally flat with a few undulations and a tough final 10k through the Meelick Tower area.
Many runners included this race in their training plans for the Dublin City Marathon in seven weeks time. En route the course took in Meelick Round Tower, Ballylahan Castle and the meandering river Moy with a gradual rise back from the river to the finish line.
The 3/4 marathon race winner was Ciaran McGonagle (Letterkenny AC) in 1:51.58. The first woman home was Emma Kenny  (Ferbane AC) in 2:08.21.
Mayo AC had a big turnout with a total of 29 in the two events and three finishers in the top six of the 3/4 marathon. John Higgins led them home 1:55.43 in a brilliant third place and was well pleased with his performance. He was followed across the line by Pat Morrison 4th in 2:04.53, Brendan Hession 5th 2:05.58, Michael Rocke 16th 2:16.58, Ambrose Gaughan 2:32.09, Andrew Hayes 2:35.49, Michael McNeela 2:36.12, Brian Derrig 2:40.20, Mick Shaw 2:42.35, Sheelagh McDonnell 2:49.01, Tracy Cunnane 2:52.17, Stephen Skillington 2:52.17, Eugene McCartan 2:56.22, Lynda Hession 3:04.42, Karen Clancy 3:06.14, Erika Ryan 3:07.04, Anthony Corbett 3:07.44, John Nyland 3:09.21, Brendan Murphy 6 min pacer 3:09.22, Michael Moran 3:09.48, Bernice McCartan 3:25.59, Elaine Patterson 3:28.38, Patricia Waldron 3:28.38.

Congratulations to Mayo AC prizewinners and all finishers in 3/4 Marathon and 5k

Andrew Hayes finished in 2:35.49

¾ Marathon

Men 1 Ciaran McGonagle (Letterkenny AC) 1:51.58, 2 Eamonn McAndrew (North Sligo AC) 1:54.10, 3 John Higgins (Mayo AC) 1:55.43

Women: 1 Emma Kenny (Ferbane AC) 2:08.21. 2 Tara Malone (1zero1) 2:24.24, 3 Dympna Kelly (Lough Key Triathlon Club) 2:27.52

Men o40 David Conway (Westport AC) 2:07.07, 2 Hugh McArdle Roscommon Harriers 2:09.11, 3 David Tiernan 2:09.48

Women o40: Patricia McKeon (Swinford AC) 2:36.40, 2 Mags Kilkenny 2:40.30, 3 Criona Reid (Mullingar Harriers AC) 2:45.34.

Men o50: 1 John McDonnell (Enniskillen AC) 2:17.17  2 Peter Hynes (Swinford AC pacer) 2:17.17, 3 John Fitzmaurice (Roscommon Harriers) 2:26.34

Women o50: 1 Jackie Fleming (East Mayo  AC) 2:40.42, 2 Mari Johnson (Sligo AC pacer) 2:43.18, 3 Veronica Burke-Woods (Swinford AC) 2:52.20

Men o60 1 Michael O’Malley 2:24.02, 2 PJ Hall 3:04.46, 3 Johnny Finn (East Mayo AC) 3:14.42

5k:  1 Andrew Nevin 16:40, 2 Dwayne Flynn (Mayo AC) 17.01

Other Mayo AC: Donna Gallagher 21:57, Mags Glavey 23.27, Breege Staunton 24:01, Kathleen Kennedy 31:05.

All above times = gross – finish place order.

Full Results including relay u20 etc:


Congratulations to Kieran Gallagher who led the Swinford AC organising team who put on an excellent event. Marshalling was well covered throughout. Refreshments were ample, varied and very welcome by competitors and supporters. The organising team were well supported by sponsors and the local community.

Thanks to Ann McDonnell for assistance in compiling our results.

Look out for photos from event on our Facebook pages.

Upcoming Events