Summer Series race 3, Ballinrobe 5k results (updated)

Ballinrobe 5k winner Frederic Bourgeais (Nantes AC) crosses the finish line in 15:59

On Tuesday evening (June 5) the Ballinrobe 5k  took place. It was the third race in 2018 Mayo AC Vodafone C&C Cellular 5k Series and also a Mayo AC Club League event with members competing for points.

There were 178 finishers – best field of the Series so far – with a good representation from clubs in the West.  Conditions were warm, humid with no breeze. This relatively flat course produced lots of fast times and many personal bests right through the field.

Frederic Bourgeais (Nantes AC) came home the winner in a closely fought race in 15:59. He was chased all the way to the line by two Westport AC runners Brendan Conway – winner last week in Ballyhaunis- second in 16:13, and Shawn McLaughlin who was second in this race last year, finished third in 16:16. Frederic Bourgeais is from Nantes in the Upper Brittany region of western France and is touring the West of Ireland. He found the race online and was delighted to win a race during his holiday.

Regina Casey (GCH) won the Women’s race in a very fast 17:20. She has just completed a brilliant series of 5ks winning five races in the Galway Series which finished last week. Aisling Joyce from Ballinrobe who runs with GCH was second in 17:53 , four seconds ahead of Jane Ann Meehan (Athenry AC) third in 17:57 – she was among a number of Athenry runners who competed. Colette Tuohy was Mayo AC’s first woman home in fourth 18:50.

Mayo AC had a great turnout – well done to them, and to all finishers.

Thanks to Joan Walsh who led the Ballinrobe team who organised the event. It was very well run and she was supported by John Timothy and other Mayo AC members, plus Lake District AC and the Order of Malta.

Ballinrobe 5k first three:

Men 1 Frederic Bourgeais (Nantes AC) 15:59; 2 Brendan Conway (Westport AC) 16:13, 3 Shawn McLaughlin (Westport AC) 16:16;

Women: 1 Regina Casey (GCH) 17:20; 2 Aisling Joyce (GCH) 17:53, 3 Jane Ann Meehan (Athenry AC) 17:57,

4 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 18:50

Results  :Results Ballinrobe

Look out for some photos on our facebook pages during the week

The next Mayo AC Vodafone Summer Series race is at Castlebar on Tuesday next June 12. Details on events calendar

Upcoming Events