Stephen and Ellie are winners at 52nd Hollymount races

Women’s 6k winner Ellie Hartnett (UCD AC) broke the course record in 21:25

The familiar setting of the main street in Hollymount village was the backdrop to the traditional November road races on Sunday afternoon. Sean Reilly and his team put on another well organised version of this popular annual event. It was the 52nd running this year – a fantastic and unique achievement – which once again took place around the familiar 3k lap. The weather was kind, misty but dry, with a chilly breeze into faces as runners headed out on each lap. The event was the final race in Mayo AC 2017 Vodafone C&C Cellular Club League with women and men members competing for points and prizes. There was a busload of competitors from the Liverpool area – a long standing tradition. 

This year’s 10k winner was Stephen Donnelly (Ballina) in 34:43. He was side by side with Shaun McLaughlin (Westport AC) as they went out on the last lap where he pulled away and had 30 seconds to spare at the finish. Stephen is only the second Mayo man to win the race in its 52 year history. Ultan McNasser (Sligo AC) was third in 35:48 – another consistent even paced performance. Alan Ashton M40,  Martin Ruane M50 and Owen Mongan M60 won the category prizes. Mayo AC won the men’s team –  Anto Devaney, Paddy Walsh, Padraic McVann and James Malone.

10k: Stephen Donnelly was only second Mayo athlete to win at Hollymount in 52 years

Ellie Hartnett (UCD AC) led the women’s 6k from start to finish with a smooth and stylish display of running. She broke Catherina McKiernan’s 2015 course record by 16 seconds finishing in 21:25. Heather Foley (Sligo) ran strongly in second place 22:25,  with Orla Tuohy – a local visitor from Southampton – third in 22:43. Kathy Gleeson tried valiantly to catch Orla but settled for fourth and first o40 in 22:48. The other category winners were Michelle Murphy F50 (Westport AC) and Geraldine Heneghan F60 (Mayo AC). Mayo AC team led by Colette Tuohy 5th in 23:09 (after her great run in Derry yesterday) Ann Marie Clarke 8th and Angela McVann 10th combined to win the team prize


Prizewinners: Women 6k  (including age category winners,

1 Ellie Hartnett  (UCD AC ) 21:25, 2 Heather Foley (Sligo) 22:27, 3 Orla Tuohy  (Southampton) 22:43

F40 1 Kathy Gleeson  (Claremorris) 22:48; F50 Michelle Murphy (Westport AC) 26:52; F60 Geraldine Heneghan (Mayo AC) 33:13

Cait Walsh and Claire Walsh head for the finish of 6k

Men 10k: (including age category winners)

1  Stephen Donnelly (Ballina) 34:43;  2 Shaun McLaughlin (Westport AC) 35:14;  3 Ultan McNasser (Sligo) 35:14

M40 Alan Ashton (Liverpool Harriers AC) 36:32; M50 Martin Ruane 40:27; M60 Owen Mongan 47:26

Well done to two Mayo AC members Anto Devaney and Breege Staunton who competed in the third and final leg of the Connacht Cross Country at Kiltoom yesterday November 18. Anto ran 8k in the masters men and Breege 4k in the masters women.

Connacht Cross Country results:

Connacht Senior Cross Country Championships 2017


Upcoming Events