41st Tubbercurry, St Patrick’s Week-end results

Paula Prendergast wins women's race at  Tubbercurry 10k in 39:32

Paula Prendergast wins women’s race at Tubbercurry 10k in 39:32

Tubbercurry celebrated St Patrick’s Day in their traditional fashion with the 41st running of the 10k. It was hosted by South Sligo AC and excellently organised by them all the way round. The field included many of the top local club runners and some from further afield. The start at Teeling street saw 300 runners and walkers set out on the familiar one kilometre tour of the town before heading out the Mountain Road. At the 5k mark at Moylough Emmett Dunleavy and Roger Barrett were out on their own at the front, a good breeze on their backs as they raced downhill. In the second half Dunleavy managed to gain a few metres and the Sligo AC man stretched out to win in his best time on this course in a fast 31:48. Roger finished strongly in second and was rewarded with a PB  32:05 and twenty seconds faster than his Tubber time in 2013.

In the women’s race Mayo AC’s Paula Prendergast looked to have a good lead early on but tired over the final kilometres. However, with Sarah Doohan (South Sligo AC) gaining all the time she held on for a great first win in this race in 39:32 – Doohan finished in 39:44. Margaret Glavey won the F50 category in her first Tubber race and was very happy with her 45:50 time after a tough race in Kinvara. Other Mayo AC: Christy O’Malley 49:26, Ann Murray 52:24. results: 41st Tubbercurry 10k

Margaret Glavey wins F50 category in 45:50

Margaret Glavey wins F50 category in 45:50








Tubber 10k ..leading out at Teeling Street

Tubber 10k ..leading out at Teeling Street








Barcelona Marathon: Well done to Karen Devaney and Lorraine Toner who ran in the Barcelona Marathon on Sunday. Karen did 4.13.59, and Lorraine  finished in 4.55.40 – both  first time marathoners. They did all their training in winter wind, rain, lightning and hailstones and were  faced with 21C heat in Barcelona. They are probably our first members to complete a marathon in 2014.

Carrowholly 5k: results  Carrowholly5km_2014(1)

parkruns – Castlebar:  Clive Lavelle 21:25, Sean Grealis 21:51 – both improved on previous week; David Dinsmore 22:11 and Sarah Flood 27:26 had first timer PBs on this course.  Malahide:  Danny Green 20:19.

Mayo Abbey 8k:

Men: 1 David Lyons 29:25, 2 John Nolan (Mayo AC) 30:25, 3 Tom McNicholas 30:30.

Women: 1 Edel Reilly 34:23, 2 Laura Heneghan (Mayo AC) 37:04, 3 Ann McDonnell (Mayo AC)  37:22,

Other Mayo AC finishers…Sean Murphy 30:50, Paddy Walsh 33:44, PJ Hall, 36:41, Ambrose Gaughan 36:28, Bernie McHugh 40:36, Trish Carty 41:22

Abbey 10k (East Galway) Edel Feeney 49:46

Upcoming Events