Sinéad Diver wins West of Ireland Women’s 10k

Women's 10k winners l-r Norah Newcombe, Sinead Diver, Regina Casey

Women’s 10k winners l-r Norah Newcombe 3rd, Sinéad Diver 1st , Regina Casey 2nd  (photo credit Tomás Greally)

Congratulations to the three Mayo women Sinéad, Regina and Norah who led the field home in the 7th Annual West of Ireland Castlebar Women’s 10k. It was a brilliant win for Sinéad Diver as she competed in her first race in Ireland during a short visit from Melbourne to her native Erris. Her finish time 35:27 was a new course record, beating Lizzie Lee’s 2015 time by eight seconds. Regina Casey (GCH) 37:32, and Norah Newcombe (Mayo AC) 37:51 were just over two minutes behind in second and third respectively and slightly down on their times last year. Mayo AC had a big turnout among over 1300 finishers with ten members finishing in the top 50. Well done to all our finishers. Apart from those shown here, their details will be compiled and posted later. The other finishers in under 45 minutes were:

4 Sara Doohan (Corran AC) 38:16, 5 Sorcha McAllister (Westport AC) 39:31, 6 Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) 39:35, 7 Maeve Gallagher (St Joseph’s Castlebar) 39:56, 8 Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 40:34, 9 Angela O’Connor W50 (Mayo AC) 41:21, 10 Marian O’Malley (Westport AC) 42:05, 11 Michelle Needham (Westport AC) 42:06, 12 Pauline Moran W55 (Mayo AC) 43:23, 13 Sonia O’Sullivan (Glenhuntley AC) 43:40, 14 Julie Kearney (Mayo AC) 43:44, 15 Maria Durkin 43:51, 16 Emer McGrath 44:51.


Upcoming Events