Sinéad Diver receives two Awards at Connacht Athletics ceremony

Sinéad Diver on Connacht Athletics Awards (screenshot from pre-recorded message)

The inaugural Connacht Athletics Awards for 2021 took place last night on zoom.

Over thirty Awards were presented virtually during the two hour ceremony.

Athletes, coaches, officials, and clubs were recognised for their achievements  in 2021 and for their contribution to the success of Connacht Athletics over the years.

Many well known former athletes and officials were among those presenting Awards.

They included Ireland’s fastest sprinter Paul Hession now based in Perth,

Longford native Tennesee based Ray Flynn Irish 1500m and mile record holder,

From Arkansas – Heather McDonnell daughter of legendary coach John McDonnell,

Mary Cullen North Sligo European Indoor 3,000m bronze medallist,

Catherina McKiernan 1994 European Cross Country Champion

1972 Olympian shot putter Philip Conway

Sinéad Diver (Mayo AC) sent a pre-recorded video message from her training base at Falls Creek in the Australian Alps. She received two Connacht Athletics Awards Athlete of the Year Female and Road Runner of the Year Female.

You can listen to her 3 minute message in the attached YouTube link which covers the whole ceremony – scroll through to beginning of message at approximately 1hr 34.

Congratulations to Sinéad and to all the other award recipients.

– Listed here:

In addition to Sinéad there were a number of recipients from the Mayo area.

They included Amanda Hynes Swinford AC joint Official of the Year, Keelan Kilrehill Moy Valley AC for Cross-country (male)- he sent a message from training camp in Kenya, Freya Renton Westport AC Cross Country Female, Conor Cusack Lake District Thrower of the year, Philip Finnerty Moy Valley AC joint Coach of the Year, Moy Valley AC joint Club of the Year, Connacht Multi Eventer of the Year Louise King St Colman’s South Mayo.


Upcoming Events