Run West Ballyhaunis 8k results

Ballyhaunis 8k winner Ger Hartnett and Mike Griffin (2nd) climb towards the 5k mark

The Annual RunWest Ballyhaunis Fit4Life 8k took place over the familiar one lap course on Friday evening June 22. It was the 11th time the race was run in conjunction with Mayo AC.

The race is part of  Mayo AC’s  Vodafone C&C Cellular 2018 Club League with points to be won by club members. It was a lovely evening with a light breeze –  a welcome contrast to Tuesday night at Claremorris. 

After the downhill start on Main St the field of 76 runners and walkers turned off the Claremorris road and took on the climb from 3-5k,  which always provides an extra challenge.

From there it’s a long straight downhill run to the finish on Doctor’s road.

The race winner was Ger Hartnett (Tuam AC) in 29:02 – retaining the Run West title he won last year and over thirty seconds faster.

He led home Castlebar based Mike Griffin who was second in 29:28. Mike ran well in our recent 5k Series finishing third in Castlebar in 18:08 . Sean Burke (Tuam AC) finished third in 29:43. Brendan Hession 30:34 (2nd last year) was Mayo AC’s first finisher in  sixth place overall.

Colette Tuohy was the clear winner of the women’s race in 31:17, adding another victory to her recent three race wins in our 5k Series. Lynda Hession 36:26 and Paula Donnellan 36:39 had anothetr close battle and made it a clean sweep for Mayo AC in second and third respectively. Both had a great 5k Series and seem to improve with every race. Mayo AC had a good turnout with twenty plus runners. Among them Eugene McCartan ran a pb 39:32 – well done.

The event was well organised by Ballyhaunis Fit4Life led by Karen Clancy and Martin Fitzmaurice and their excellent team of volunteers. They also provided welcome refreshments for all at prize giving in the Rugby Club. He thanked the event sponsors, chief among them TC Fitness (Tracy Cunnane) and Supervalu (water). Thanks also to the Gardai, Order of Malta for their services in support of the event.

Full Results  Ballyhaunis8kResults

(thanks to Conor and Ronnie Naylor)


Senior Men:

1 Ger Hartnett (Tuam AC) 29:02

2  Mike Griffin (Castlebar) 29:28

3 Sean Burke ( Tuam AC) 29:43

M55: 1 John Cribbin  34:21


1 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 31:30

2  Lynda Hession (Mayo AC) 36:26

3  Paula Donnellan (Mayo AC) 36:39

W50 Mags Glavey (Mayo AC) 38:40

U19 M: Robert Lisy 42:19, W: Alyssa Abiose 54:05

Other recent results:

Saturday June 16: Patrick Jordan ran the Queens 10k –  part of the NYC five borough race series organised by New York Road Runners. He finished in 1:00:39 – “I ran the race in enjoyment mode and did not push the pace at all– obviously!” He’s looking forward to events later in the Summer to get ready for the Autumn –  the Dublin Marathon and hopefully the Ceide Fields run again.  “Unfortunately, with the Summer heat over here, the race schedule really dries up from now until about the third week of August.”

Upcoming Events