Run for Boylo results

Sarah Syron races to the line for second place in 39:44

The 8th Annual Run for Boylo 10/5k races took place today in excellent conditions though slightly humid at times, starting and finishing by the banks of the Moy in Foxford. 400 runners and walkers completed the two races.

There was a wonderful turnout from Mayo AC again this year in the 10k – all of them achieved points in the club league while a number were among the prizewinners.

A Westport AC trio  completed a clean sweep in the 10k. The winner was Brendan Conway in 34:31 , second was David Hickey 35:27, with Francis Cryan third 36:36. John Higgins was our first finisher in fifth place in 37:24, closely followed by Tony O’Malley in an excellent new pb 37:50.

Noel Feeney also achieved a new pb in 45:02, as did birthday boy Ambrose Gaughan 40:39.

In the women’s race Kilmovee 10k winner Edel Reilly came home first again in 39:20, just over 20 seconds ahead of a great run by Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) in 38:44 with clubmate Angela O’Connor third in 42:33.

Mags Glavey was also among the prizewinners retaining her Boylo W60 title in 47:07.

Martina O’Connor (Castlebar AC) was first woman home in the 5k race in 19:57. Ann Murray 22:14  and Catrina Houlihan were two of our finishers in the 5k.

Congratulations to all Mayo AC prizewinners and finishers today – names and times will be listed when the Club League tables are posted later in the week and any who achieved personal bests will also get bonus points.

The Run for Boylo event was brilliantly organised, led by the Boyle family with great support by local sponsors.   Proceeds will be distributed among a number of charities.

The next Mayo AC club league race is their Summer Series 5k, also at Foxford on Tuesday June 11 at 8pm.

Prizewinners:  Sunday April 28, 8th Annual ‘Run for Boylo’ 10k ,

(results: Provisional Results Run For Boylo

Men 1 Brendan Conway (Westport AC) 34:31, 2 David Hickey (Westport AC) 35:27, 3 Francis Cryan (Westport AC) 36:36.

Women 1: Edel Reilly (Hollymount) 39:20, 2 Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 39:44, 3 Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC) 42:33

M40 1 David Kearins (Sligo AC) 37:09

W40 1 Tracy Kennedy (Sligo AC) 44.50

M50 1 Johnny Cribbin  (Ballyhaunis) 42:11

W50 1: Jackie Fleming (Curry) 43:08

W60 1 Mags Glavey (Mayo AC) 47:07

M60 1 Michael O’Malley 40:38

Upcoming Events