River Moy Half Marathon results

John Byrne clocks in – third place in 74.15

Mayo AC were well represented again this year at the River Moy Half Marathon held in Ballina this morning. The course is described by organisers as “relatively flat with a few challenging hills along the way” and conditions were warm and dry with a slight breeze. The race winner was Alan O’Shea in 68:39 – beating his own course record. He won this race 2016 and was second last year. Well done to John Byrne (Mayo AC) who had a great run to finish third in 74:15 behind Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) 72:32.

The women’s race was won by Heather Foley in 85:49. Sinéad Whitelaw (Mullingar Harriers AC ) recently runner up in the West of Ireland Women’s 10k was second in 87:32 followed home by Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) – another excellent finish in 89:45.

There were 471 finishers (533 last year), with 32 home in under ninety minutes.

Well done to all our finishers – they included two category winners – David Dinsmore, M60 92:43, and Mags Glavey F65 1:44.40 – excellent times by both.
Results summary :
Men 1 Alan O’Shea (Bantry AC) 68:39, 2 Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) 72.33, 3 John Byrne (Mayo AC) 74:15

Women 1 Heather Foley (North Sligo AC) 85:49, 2 Sinéad Whitelaw (Mullingar Harriers AC) 87:32, 3 Colette Tuohy  (Mayo AC) 89:45

Among other Mayo AC finishers:  Dwayne Flynn 81:52, Brendan Murphy 89:19-  3rd M45,  Darren Brewer 92:05, Michael McNeela 92:05, James Malone 85:45, Tom Jennings 97:31, Bill Coyne 97:51, Clive Lavelle 98:57, Eamonn Joyce 99:19,
 Ambrose Gaughan 1:39.33, Donal Tighe 1:49.55, Greg Barry 1:51.21, Donna Gallagher 1:52.08, John Nyland 1:52.23, Tony Hegarty 1:52.32, Ciara McDermott 1:52.52, Karen Devaney 1:54.05, Marcella McDonnell 1:55.29, Eugene McCartan 1:55.48, James Murtagh 1:57.13,
Ann McDonnell 1:57.36, Noelle Kilduff 1:57.36,
Mary Murphy 2:00.33, Yvonne Coyne 2:03.02. Breda Doyle 2:04.06, Catherine Prendergast 2:05.00

Upcoming Events