River Moy Half Marathon results

Some of our finishers in Ballina Half Marathon

Mayo AC were well represented again this year at the 10th Annual River Moy Half Marathon held in Ballina this morning. The course is described by organisers as “relatively flat with a few challenging hills along the way”.

The race winner was local athlete Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) in 76:04. He was second last year behind the  course record holder Alan O’Shea who ran 68:39 in 2018. Eamonn McAndrew was a close second in 76:23, with Seamus Somers just behind in third 76:46.

Norah Pieterse (Mayo AC)  had another great run to win the women’s race in an excellent 84:38 following her recent victory in the Women’s 10k in Castlebar. Isobel Oakes came home second in 89:07 – she was third in the Women’s 10k. Serena Tuffy (Ballina AC)  finished third in 91:41.

There were 477 finishers.


Congratulations to Norah Pieterse and well done to all our finishers – they included age category winners:
Tom Prendergast 1st M50 82:56, Pauline Moran 6th woman overall and first W60 1:35.48, Noel Feeney 1st M65 1:49.06, Edward Sweeney 3rd M65 2:05.06, Mary Murphy 1st W65 2:00.01.
Among the competing clubs:  Mayo AC were second men’s team behind North Sligo AC of 11 teams. Mayo AC women were the first of 9 competing clubs.
Results summary :
Men 1 Michael Canty (Moy Valley AC) 76:04, 2 Eamonn McAndrew (North Sligo AC) 76.23, 3 Seamus Somers (Sligo AC) 76:46.

Women 1 Norah Pieterse (Mayo AC) 84:38, 2 Isobel Oakes (Ballinamore AC) 89:07, 3 Serena Tuffy (Ballina AC) 91:41.

Apart from Norah Pieterse and category winners, other Mayo AC are listed here:

The first Mayo AC finisher was Dwayne Flynn 11th overall in 81:04, Patrick Morrison 1:21.47, Darren Brewer 88:12 almost four minutes faster than 2018, Andrew Hayes 1:35.47, Mick Shaw 1:43.54, Stephen Skillington 1:44.11, Sheelagh McDonnell 1:45.26, Donal Tighe 1:49.20, Anthony Corbett 1:49.51, Ann McDonnell 1:50.00, Tony Hegarty 1:51.21, Greg Barry 1:53.36, Justin McDonagh 1:53.47, Tracy Cunnane 1:54.34, Karen Clancy 1:55.26, Mags Connell 1:55.33,  John Nyland 1:55.37, Martin Fitzmaurice 1:56.32, Angela McVann 2:04.54, Geraldine Murphy 2:05.02, Yvonne Burke 2:05.06. Ger Fahy 2:05.06, Trevor Kelly 2:10.26,  Elaine Patterson 2:21.13, Patricia Waldron 2:21.13, Colette McTigue 2:24.20
Let us know if we’ve missed any member.

Upcoming Events