Results Resolution 5ks : Galway, Westport

New Year’s Day 2019. Many people took the opportunity to mark the calendar with a run or a race, encouraged by a very mild and calm morning in the West. 

The new year is a natural time to reflect and resolve to change or improve how we live our lives. The month of January was named after the two-faced Roman god, Janus, who looks forward for new beginnings as well as backwards for reflection and resolution.
The Galway Resolution 5k winner was Kevin Mooney (Craughwell AC) in 15:57. Regina Casey (GCH) was first woman home in 17:21 – an excellent start to the year and and like many looking ahead to the National 10k in April.
Results: 344 (finishers).
Westport Resolution 5k (not chip timed)
The men’s race was won by Joe Hastings in 15:44; second Sean McLaughlin 15:49, and third Ethan Lloyd in 16:28. All three from Westport. Our first finisher was Dwayne Flynn 4th in 17:31.
In the women’s race the winner was Martina O’Connor (Castlebar AC – Angela’s daughter) 20:11 second Niamh Richardson (Kilkenny Harriers) 20:26, and third Angela O’Connor herself 20:45. Other Mayo AC included Tony O’Malley 19:53, Anne Murray 23:42, Noel Feeney 23:50, Breege Staunton 24.50,  James Murtagh 24:08, Eugene McCartan 30:36. Well done all.
Thanks to Paul Reynolds and Angela O’Connor for some of these details.
Note ; Club membership fees for 2019 (Jan 1- Dec 31) are now due.
Registration available via the green button on our homepage: “Club Registration click here to join”.

Upcoming Events