Results: Mayo AC at National Half Marathon

Twenty-four Mayo AC runners – fifteen men and nine women – completed the National Half Marathon course in Dublin this morning. It was an 0830am start at Kilmainham. For some members it was their first time at these championships while many are experienced competitors. As well as our individuals we had four teams competing – two 035, and two o50.

Well done to them all on a great club performance and some brilliant individual achievements.

The National Half Marathon Championships was incorporated in the Dublin Rock n Roll event with 800 runners representing clubs from the four provinces competing for National medals on the 13.1 mile course.

Racing conditions were good – 16°C at start- on the new out and back course which included a loop of challenging undulations on roads west of the Phoenix Park before turning back near the Liffey via Chapelizod to the finish.

John Nolan was our first finisher in 1:26.36, followed by Mark Basquille, Neil Carroll, and Brendan Murphy – these four under 90 minutes.

Colette Tuohy M45 was our first woman over the line in 1:30.07 with Pauline Moran W60 next home in 1:38.02 a gold medal contender again. She led the o50 team home and together with Breege Blehein W50 1:48.01 and Mags Glavey W65 1:49.25 (another gold individual we hope) they will be challenging for team gold.

Our only senior competitor Clive Lavelle had an unfortunate accident at 11k when he took a nasty tumble “as we turned left in through two small gates, there was a big piece of metal in the middle on the ground and I caught my toe and and went flying, I cut my elbow and two knees, my number got ripped off and somebody handed it to me and I balled it into my pocket, I got an unofficial time of 1:43.44”. Well done Clive, for finishing after that – a brave run indeed.

Well done to all our finishers who trained hard for the event and committed to represent the club.

As in recent years, our core strength for medals rests with our master’s women, and they seem to be well in contention for individual and team medals in 2018.

All of our finishers earned club league points and tables will be updated soon.

Provisional finish times below are  based on Dublin Rock n Roll organisers results.

Athletics Ireland will publish National results including individual and team medal placings – all based as usual on gun time. We’ll post another update when these results appear.



Senior: Clive Lavelle 1:43.44 (unofficial)

Ambrose Gaughan 1:35.53
Neil Carroll 1:29.43

John Nolan 1:26.36

Darren Brewer 1:31.00

Brian Derrig 1:45.33

Brendan Murphy 1:29.49

Peter Feerick 1:44.31

Mark Basquille 1:29.04

John Nyland 1:50.27

Michael Moran 2:02.35


Stephen Skillington 1:42.21

James Murtagh 1:55.30

Eugene McCartan 2:00.24

Tom Jennings 1:43.40



Yvonne Coyne 2:02.17

Colette Tuohy 1:30.07

Paula Donnellan 2:05.25

Joan Walsh 1:53.47

Patricia Nyland 2:26.10


Pauline Moran 1:38.08

Margaret Glavey 1:49.25

Mary Murphy 2:14.34

Breege Blehein 1:48.01

Upcoming Events