Olympians in start line-up for tomorrow’s Tubbercurry St Patrick’s Day 10k

At tonight’s registration l-r Daniel Stones, Paul Walsh South Sligo AC, Andrew Coscoran












Danny McDaid Irish Olympian in Munich 1972 and Montreal 1976 in marathon, and winner of the first St Patrick’s Day Tubbercurry 10k will be the guest starter at tomorrow’s 50th edition.

He will be joined at the start by current Irish 1500m record holder and Olympian Andrew Coscoran and some other star athletes celebrating South Sligo AC’s historic 50th running of the 10k.

Andrew Coscoran: Dublin Track Club – on  25 February 2023, the 26-year-old broke Marcus O’Sullivan’s 35-year-old Irish indoor 1500 m record with a time of 3:33:49 for third at the World Tour Indoor Final in Birmingham. He was a 2020 Tokyo Olympian 1500m semi-finalist. Andrew ran a 3:53.64 Indoor mile in Boston last month.

He will be joined by Daniel Stones DTC and Raheny Shamrock AC who has a 64:59 half-marathon and 30:47 10,000m.
And Feidhlim Kelly of Dublin Track Club will also be there.
The Tubbercurry course record 30:15 by Mark Morgan Swansea Harriers in 1997 record 30:15.
Will it be broken tomorrow?
There will probably be a few more well known runners in the field.
Come along tomorrow and join the celebrations and watch the action- or you can still register to run the 10k at St Brigid’s Hall from 10-11.30am.
On display at St Brigid’s Hall another blast from the past:

Tubbercurry 10k 1982 l-r Ronnie Naylor, PJ Mulhern, Paddy Murray, Jarlath Galvin

Upcoming Events