Norah Newcombe and Pauline Moran lead huge Mayo AC crew to National half-marathon success

National Half Marathon First three women l-r 2nd Heather Murphy St Michael’s AC 1:18.56, 1st Natasha Adams Letterkenny AC 1:18.15, 3rd Norah Newcombe Pieterse Mayo AC 1:19.14

Tullamore Harriers hosted the AI National Half-Marathon today which was incorporated in the club’s annual event. Numbers were capped and sold out a few weeks ago.

 Last year Mayo AC had nine competitors when Ratoath AC hosted the race. They brought home team W50 gold (4:51.57), and two individual medals Pauline Moran gold W65, ColetteTuohy bronze W50.
Today we were represented by a huge contingent – eighteen women and twenty-four men – probably a club record. (See some of the group in photo below).
They assembled on the startline at the Harriers Stadium for the one lap race which finished on the track. Running conditions were good with forecast local temperatures of 14-16° –  “leaves will rustle and you’ll feel a light breeze on your face”.
We had women’s teams o50 and o35, and all members competed in their individual categories from Senior to o70.
Finishers gun time (gross)  determined rostrum medal winners, team (combined first three), and all individual places.
Our runners were led home by a fantastic overall women’s 3rd place by Norah Newcombe Pieterse in 1:19.14 for a well deserved National Senior bronze. She was also the W40 category winner. It adds to her brilliant achievements and pbs so far this year
Our second finisher and first man was Darren Flanagan M35 in 1:20.24 – a great run improving on his 1:21:44 at Ratoath in 2022. John Byrne M45 was just behind in an impressive 1:22.16. Club endurance coach Matt Bidwell was next home in 1:22.43, 12th M50 – his first half since 2015, followed by Michael Rocke 1:22.51.
Colette Tuohy W50 was our second woman finisher in another great performance 1:30.46 – almost a minute better than Ratoath last year. That’s another consistently strong run by one of the club’s stalwarts. Colette finished 5th in W50 category.
The amazing and inspirational Pauline Moran finished in 1:30.56, breaking her 2022 1:34.08  National record by over three minutes and gold again W65.
Her finish time was also well inside the World age category record 1:32.56 set by Emmi Luthi of Switzerland in Denmark which has stood since 2009.
Mags Glavey won a brilliant silver W70 in a terrific 1:47.17, and Mary Murphy won bronze in same category in 2:10.32
Third woman was Donna Gallagher W45 1:37.36 (*o35 team) a great run improving with every race this year, and vital support to o35 team Gold.
Provisional medal tally:
W35 women’s team Norah, Colette, Donna show Mayo AC with a combined time of 4:20.54 in gold! Four excellent individual category medals:  Norah Newcombe gold in W40, Pauline Moran gold W65,
Mags Glavey silver W70,
Mary Murphy bronze W70.
And our W50 team with a combined time of 5:15.24 in 6th place:  Pauline, Mags, Monica.
Note: there are two results lists open race and AI National
Mayo AC results:
Shane Heneghan SM 1:26.05
Karla Regan SW 1:55.45
Dee Finnegan W35 1:41.57
Noelle Kilduff W35 1:45.11
Norah Newcombe W40 1:19.14
Paula Donnellan W40 1:41.46 (last year 1:35.19)
Mairéad Bristow W40 1:43.56
Donna Gallagher W45 1:37.36 (*o35 team)
Gillian Hanrahan W45 1:48.54
Ann McDonnell W45 1:42.11

Colette Tuohy W50 1:30.46 (1:31.30 last year (*o35 team)

Geraldine Murphy W50 1:58.33
Marcella McDonnell W55 2:00.39
Caitlín Woods W55 1:54.14
Monica Joyce W60 1:57.04, 8th
Pauline Moran W65 1:30.56 – another gold and a new National Record and also two minutes better than Christine Kennedy’s time 1:32 in April 2022 Poland awaiting ratification? (last year Pauline ran 1:34.08 Irish W65 age record)
Mary Murphy W70 2:10.32,  bronze
Mags Glavey W70 1:47.17 silver
Michael Kelly M35 1:27.57
Darren Flanagan M35 1:20.24
Rowland McIntyre M35 1:23
Michael Rocke M35 1:22.51
Stephen Reilly M35 1:49.28
Andrew Hayes M40 1:27.54 (1:29.40 last year)
Damien Finnegan M40 1:33.34
Andy Neary M40 1:33.52
Karol Watson M40 1:29.37
Darren Brewer M45 1:27.54
Mike Griffin M45 1:26.29
John Byrne M45 1:22.16
Colin Clancy M45 1:29.27
Martin Parsons M50 1:55.47
John Gordon M50 1:23.20, 16th
Paul Brennan M50 1:37.03
Tony O’Malley M50 1:28.50
John Nyland M50 1:48.27
Matt Bidwell M50 1:22.43, 12th
Ambrose Gaughan M50 1:37.32
John Nolan M50 1:29.42
Tom Jennings M55 1:53.57
Martin Fitzmaurice M55 2:04.29
James Murtagh M60 1:59.34
Team and category results to when confirmed.
Race winners: Ryan Creech Leevale AC 1:05.47, Natasha Adams Letterkenny AC W40 1:18.15
A big Thank You to our  Half Marathon organiser Colette Tuohy, bus driver Damien Finnegan, and also Mary Daly Tullamore Harriers AC for all her help with last minute name changes.
Mayo AC had one of the largest club representations today – a magnificent achievement! Our runners gathered at a local Venue Browne’s for a suitable celebratory meal after the event.
Congratulations to all of our finishers today especially medal winners and first timers. Almost half of the crew finished in under 1:35.
There are also prizes within the Harriers event Quinlan Cup and cash prizes for some categories.
This post will be updated and edited as necessary so check back here.
Any updates etc to
Results :
Race start video:

Upcoming Events