Norah Newcombe coasts to victory in West of Ireland Women’s 10k

Top six in women’s 10k l-r Serena, Sarah, Colette, Isobel, Norah and Edel

The 10th Annual West of Ireland Women’s 10k took place today (May 5) in Castlebar.

We had a good turnout of Mayo AC competitors who enjoyed the brilliant atmosphere and support, including bands providing a fitting rhythm to accompany this annual sporting celebration.

According to one ‘running reporter’ – “a warm day…hills were same as usual, lovely atmosphere, lots of music en route, and marshals that were really encouraging. It was very well organised,  –  a really super race.”

Conditions were good after a frosty morning, no wind and good sunshine – a  bit warm for some.

It’s a one lap course with some challenging climbs after the field turns off the Pontoon Road and also on the return section into the town.

Mayo AC were prominent among the prizewinners:

Top 6

1 Norah Newcombe (Mayo AC) 37:39, 2 Edel Reilly (Hollymount) 39:00,  3 Isobel Oakes (Ballinamore) 39:38.

4 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 39:54

5 Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 39:58

6 Serena Tuffy (Ballina AC) .

Category winners:

o40 Michelle Needham (Westport AC)

o50 Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC)

o60 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 43+.

It was a well deserved victory for Norah Newcombe who was a top finisher in this event over the years – second in 2015 (37:14) and third 2016 (37:51). She’s been in great form recently. Edel Reilly continued her excellent recent record over 10k to finish in second place. Isobel Oakes came home third – she’s a former winner of the women’s race at Roscommon Harriers 10 mile in 2017. Great running too by Colette and Sarah – consistent top finishers over the years. And of course our marvellous  masters: Angela, Pauline and Mags.

The course record was never threatened – it is held by Sinéad Diver (Mayo AC)  who won the race in 2016 in 35:27 although Laura Shaughnessy (DSD) came close in 2017 in 35:41.

Congratulations to all the Mayo AC prizewinners and finishers

Upcoming Events