Nine Mayo athletes on Connacht Records list

Nine Mayo athletes are included in the newly ratified list of Connacht Athletics records, a list that includes Olympians, former world record holders and a current European U20 record holder.

There are five Mayo women on the list:

Sarah Quinn (St Colman’s South Mayo) holds two records: 100m in 11.78, and 100m hurdles in 13.47.

Michaela Walsh (Swinford AC) holds four records:

shot 16.13 which is ranked 4th in all-time Irish list;

discus 34.68,

hammer 64.57 and 2nd all-time Irish. It is also a national u23 record;

javelin 42.31 ranked 16th Irish all-time.

Two Westport AC women are included: Sharon Heveran high jump1.86m, ranked 6th all-time Irish, and Caoimhe King triple jump 12.81- 4th in all-time list.

Sinéad Diver (Mayo AC) holds three records: 10,000m 31:25.49 and ranked 4th Irish born in all time records, half-marathon 68:50, and marathon 2:24.11 ranked 2nd Irish born all-time . All three records achieved while representing Australia.

There are five Mayo men on the list.

Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) holds records for half-marathon 63:37, and the marathon 2:12.26 which makes him 10th Irish all-time.

Eddie Campbell from Ballyhaunis has held the hammer record of 58:90m since 1977.

Conor Cusack (Lake District AC) javelin 64:87 and is currently ranked 13th on Irish all-time list.

Brian Flatley (Claremorris) holds the decathlon record 5169 points achieved in 2007.

There is another notable performances on the list of Connacht records: the current European and Irish U20 800m of 1.46.13 set by Longford AC’s Cian McPhillips indoors this year

The list was compiled by the Connacht Athletics statistics team of Pierce O’Callaghan, Seamus Lynch, Iain Shaw and Ronan O’Hart.

This is the list: Connacht Athletics Records-1