National Half Marathon results

Some of our team celebrate with their finish medals

Twenty-four Mayo AC runners – fourteen women and ten men  were on the 0830am start line on Sunday morning at the North Wall Quay.  Well done to them all on a great club performance. The race was incorporated in the Dublin Rock n Roll Half Marathon with runners representing clubs from the four provinces gathered at The Point to compete for National medals on the 13.1 mile course.  Conditions were good and dry over the flat first half and on second half challenging ups and downs to the finish in the Phoenix Park. Norah Newcombe was our first finisher in 1:24.46, just a couple of minutes outside her time last year when she won senior bronze. It looks like she was fifth woman home overall.

Results to hand show that many of those who ran this race in 2016 improved their finish times today. Among them Colette Tuohy who was was five minutes better, Brendan Murphy improved by a minute on his 2016 pb finish, Padraig McVann was faster by five minutes.
Sarah Syron backed up Norah and Colette in the women’s senior team with an excellent 1:30.10.

James Murtagh finished in 1:53 – a brilliant fifteen minute improvement.  Edel Feeney and Mary Murphy both knocked seven minutes off and Angela McVann (four), Monica Joyce, and Una McGrath all made significant gains against their 2016 times. Pauline Moran will be well in the running to retain her W60 gold as she was three minutes faster than last year in 1:37.

Well done to all our finishers who trained hard for the event and committed to represent the club. We’ll have an update when AI publish their results and any official news of medals.

 It was Club League part of our Club League so points will be calculated and tables updated soon.  Thanks to Maria Kneafsey for help with results and for photo.

Provisional finish times based on organisers results : Athletics Ireland will publish National Results including individual and team medal placings.

Padraig McVann 1:35.09
Tim Ganley  1:45.39
Brian Derrig 1:38.49
John Nolan 1:25.59
Emmet O’Brien 1:42.52
Ambrose Gaughan 1:37.34
Murtagh 1:53.58
Brendan Murphy 1:28.30

M Senior
David Gordon 1:28.20
Clive Lavelle 1:38.14

W Senior
Angela McVann 
Joan Walsh 1:46.51
Maria Kneafsey
Edel Feeney 1:47.17

Norah Newcombe 1:24.46
Colette Tuohy 1:29.31
Syron 1:30.10
Mags Connell 2:01.23
Coyne 2:01.56
Pauline Moran 1:37.33
Mary Murphy

Ann Murray
McGrath 2:16.43
Monica Joyce 1:50.52 

Upcoming Events