National 10k – well done all!

Bring me sunshine...

Bring me sunshine…

It was a difficult day for runners in the National 10k in the Phoenix Park today. The one lap course is recognised as on the tough side, especially in the second 5k when tired legs hit the hills. All the way round a cold gusting wind swept through the field. We don’t mention the parts where it was on our backs. Our twenty four finishers did the club proud – a mighty performance by all. Well done!

It was great to see club commitment, camaraderie and competitive spirit embrace this classic championship event. Among our 24 finishers there were nine runners who were among our 16 finishers in 2015, a number of new members in their first championship event, a range of age categories from senior to 65+, four teams, a few diehards, and remarkably three PBs as far as we know currently. Paula Prendergast had a great run 39:59 – over two minutes better than 2015 and our first finisher overall. Neil Carroll, our only senior man competing, was second home in 40:35.

We had probably the biggest contingent from clubs in the West. it was good to meet up with groups from GCH, Sligo, Westport and Swinford clubs. Well done to Regina Casey (GCH) who ran brilliantly to finish fifth Irish finisher in the women’s race which started separately 20 minutes ahead of the men. And to Shane Bracken (Swinford AC) who finished second in the mile event.

Finishing times (provisional) are in team sections and random order and are as published on . Thanks to all who sent finish time texts earlier. We’ll wait for the dust to settle at Athletics Ireland and check out the championship medals and other placings.

Senior Women :

Paula Prendergast SW  39:59

Mairead Cafferkey  SW 47:12

Maria Kneafsey   SW  52:59

Edel Feeney  SW 48:23

Angela McVann  W45 48:24

Women 50+ :

Ann Murray W50 48:00

Angela O’Connor W50 41:45

Pauline Moran W55 43:59

Mag Glavey  W65 46:22

Monica Joyce W50 48:23 PB

Mary Murphy  W60 55:11

Mary Walsh   W50  50:52

Una McGrath  W55  56:48

Men +35

John Geraghty M45 47:22

Brendan Murphy M45 40:43 PB

Padraic McVann  M45 42:46

John Nyland  M45 48:22 PB

Shane Timothy M35 48:12

Christy O’Malley M45 54:40

Men +50

David Dinsmore M60 42:26

Jimmy Feeney M60 44:48

PJ Hall M55 45:58

Tom Hunt M65 44:41


 Neil Carroll SM 40:35

Upcoming Events