National 10k medal success update

Athletics Ireland have published provisional results of the National 10k Championships. As anticipated, they show major success for Mayo AC women in the masters categories.

A huge well done and congratulations to our four age category individual medal winners: Colette Tuohy gold F45, Angela O’Connor gold F50, Pauline Moran silver F60, Mags Glavey gold F65.

And to our women’s 50+ team – Angela, Pauline, Mags who retained gold with a combined time of 2:10.01, over two minutes faster than 2016 and eleven minutes ahead of second placed Mullingar Harriers. Just rewards for lots of hard work and dedication – and there were some brilliant achievements by all who represented the club on a big championship day out in the Park.

Colette, Ann McDonnell and Fidelma Gallagher finished 6th F35 of 24 teams in 2:13.42 – ten minutes behind winners Donore Harriers. Sligo AC just beat Westport for bronze by ten seconds.

Well done to the Sligo medal winners – Sara Doohan Corran AC gold F35, Lucy Brennan gold F55, and North Sligo AC men’s o35 silver ahead of Sligo AC in bronze with Sligo AC lead man Richard Gorman in bronze M40.  And to GCH silver F40 winner Gráinne Ní Uallachain.

Finish times and placings are shown as published by Athletics Ireland and are still provisional.

There were 481 finishers in total, slightly down on 2016.

Here are Mayo AC finishing times as published by AAI :

Colette Tuohy 1st F45 39:58

Ann McDonnell F35 46:27

Fidelma Gallagher F45 47:17

Maria Kneafsey S 48:58

Men o35
Mark Basquille 37:54
Sean Murphy  37:51
Greg  Barry 48:37

Pawel Lach 49:27

Women o50
Angela O’Connor 1st F50 41:05
Pauline Moran 2nd F60 42:30
Mags Glavey 1st F65 46:26
Monica Joyce F55 49:00
Ann Murray F50 49:20
Men o50
David Dinsmore M60 42:44
Tom Hunt M65 44:39
Finian Joyce M55 51:02

Upcoming Events