Medals and points won at Mayo Cross Country

Warm dry conditions made for an enjoyable event today as Swinford AC hosted the Mayo Cross Country Championships. There was excellent collaboration with Mayo Co Board right through from parking to prize giving, with ample refreshments provided for the large crowd of competitors and supporters.

The venue is known locally as Mellett’s Hill – as a title it’s certainly no misnomer, though ‘hills’ might be more apt. The testing ups and downs along the one kilometre lap course (combining three fields) provided a formidable challenge – true cross country without the mud. The adult races were preceded by juvenile under 8-18 events. For the senior/masters races, some u18 categories were combined with adults – women ran four laps while men completed six.

Well done to our nine runners – five women and four men – all coming home with team and/or individual medals. Colette Tuohy won the women’s race by a distance, taking over the lead on the third lap. As usual she was well supported by Angela O’Connor and Ann Murray. For both Monica Joyce and Angela McVann it was their cross country debut. They enjoyed each other’s company all the way round and their efforts combined with those of Colette, Angela and Ann won Mayo AC gold senior team medals.


The men were lucky to have Padraig McVann on hand as he stepped up to make the required four for a team. Padraig had not intended competing as he completed a hard training session on Saturday. Anto Devaney led our quartet home, supported also by Ronnie Naylor and Tom Hunt to win Senior silver team medals behind Swinford AC.
Paddy O’Toole M40 (Westport AC) was the clear winner of the Senior race. He’s in fine form currently and ran an impressive 2:35.32 in last month’s Berlin Marathon.
All nine members who ran today gained twenty points each in the Club League. Final league race is at Hollymount on November 19.
We’ll post definitive results when they are published by Co Board

Upcoming Events