Heading for the hills at Swinford

It was a lovely sunny Sunday at Mellet’s Hill for the Mayo Cross Country Championships excellently hosted by Swinford AC. Seven members lined up to compete in the two Seniors /Masters races.

Mellet’s Hill is an undulating course to put it mildly and a good test of stamina. Conditions were good and firm underfoot.

The  first of these two adult races was for women and men 65+ over 4 laps, and as starter Peter Hynes reminded the field- there were 16 hills to conquer.

Before this start Peter led those assembled in a reflective reminder of the recent passing of Ann Murray, RIP.

Colette Tuohy, Mags Glavey, and Tom Hunt competed in this race.

The second race was for men – seniors Dwayne Flynn and John Brennan joined by Darren Brewer and John Cribbin in masters. They ran six laps.

Congratulations to our medal winners – all seven of them.


Senior Women
1st Serena Tuffy, Ballina.
2nd Maria Corduff, Swinford.

Masters Women:


1st Colette Tuohy, Mayo AC,

2nd Regina Mullaney, Swinford.

3rd Tina Phillips, Swinford.


1st Adette Gallagher, Swinford.

2nd Amanda Hynes, Swinford.


1st Mags Glavey, Mayo AC.

1st Swinford: Tina Phillips, Adette Gallagher, Amanda Hynes, Sheila Hughes, Breda Carney, Fiona Yeates and Mary Lavin.

Senior Men
1st Dwayne Flynn, Mayo AC.
2nd John Brennan, Mayo AC.
3rd Gareth McDonnell, Swinford.

Masters Men.


1st Paddy O’Toole, Westport AC

2nd Sean Gallagher, Moy Valley AC

3rd Darren Brewer, Mayo AC


1st Peter Hynes, Swinford AC

2nd John Cribben, Mayo AC.

3rd Alan Bracken, Swinford AC


1st Mattie Coleman, Ballina AC


1 Tom Hunt Mayo AC

1st Swinford:  Peter Hynes, Jarlath, Morris, John Nolan and Alan Bracken.

Thanks to Marion Mattimoe (Mayo Co Board) for these results.