Mayo Road League – Race 1: Carramore 10K

[Download not found]

The first race of the Mayo AC Road Race league was held in Carramore on Saturday May 15th. This 10k event is a popular and relatively flat course.
The evening was wet but it still didn’t prevent many great runners taking their place at the start line.
The event was won by Craughwell’s very own Gerry Ryan a great supporter of the Mayo League and a marvellous ambassador for athletics throughout the province and country. Ryan has been to the forefront of men’s athletics for many years.

In second and third positions were Mayo ACs top male runners John Byrne in an excellent 31.55 and TJ McHugh in 33.42.

First in the Women’s Section was Mayo AC’s  Catherine Conway in an outstanding 36.21 followed by Mary Gleeson Mayo AC in 37.43, Angela O’Connor Mayo AC finished in 3rd place in a time of 40.13

First and Second in the O35 section were Mayo AC members and sisters Cathy Connolly 40.44 and Chris Gallagher.42.07

First and Second in the O45 section were the ever improving Bernie Kelly GCH in a time of 44.21 and Ann Murray 44.38

Other Mayo AC women participating were Derval Devaney Mayo AC who finished Carramore 10k in 4th place overall in a time of 40.35 but who also recently on May 1st came first in the women’s section of the IMRA race of Croagh Patrick. Derval a fine athlete completed that challenge in an amazing 63:59 for completing the ascent and descent of Croagh Patrick.

Other Carramore female participants for Mayo AC in Carramore were Caroline Conway 42:51, Marian Sheridan making a welcome comeback in a brilliant 43:52, Yvonne Byrne 46:29 , Tracey Durkan had a PB in 47:47 (well done Tracey!), Joan Walsh making a great comeback to Mayo AC in an excellent finish of 48:50, Breege Staunton 50:14, Patricia Varley 51:42, Mary Walsh 53:16 and Carmel Leonard 57:50,
In the men’s categories Ian Egan GCH was first O40 in 35:13 and second place went to Peter Hynes Swinford AC in 36:52
The men’s O50 category was won by Mayo AC’s Billy Gallagher 37:47 and Ronnie Naylor finished in second place in a time of 39:39

Other Mayo AC male athletes  participating in Carramore were Andrew Lynskey 35:12, Francis Cryan 36:58, David Huane 38:48, Gerry Galvin 40:02, Michael Mc Neela 40:36, Owen Mongan 43:46, Christy O’Malley 44:53, Chris O’Connell 48:05, John Timothy 48:18

Upcoming Events