Mayo Cross Country Championships results

Senior women: Colette Tuohy second with winner Deirdre Galvin

The C&C Cellular/Vodafone Mayo Even Ages and Senior Cross Country Championships were hosted by Swinford AC at Mellett’s Hill on Sunday October 7. The course was tough combining three fields and some challenging hills, though the ground was firm.

Weather conditions added to the test with rain and blustery wind right through the event.

Well done to our twelve competitors and congratulations to the medal winners.

Mayo AC won the men’s and women’s senior teams categories. Colette Tuohy led the women home and won silver individual. Newcomer Paul Feeney marked his debut leading our senior team to gold. He also won silver individual with Pat Morrison just behind in bronze. Tom Hunt finished second in masters category.

Thanks to all at Swinford AC for hosting this event and to all who helped with the smooth running in difficult conditions and provided food and refreshments in abundance for all who attended.

Thanks to club chairman David Dinsmore for his support and for the photos on our facebook pages.

Yesterday’s weekend results post has been updated to include Enniscrone results.


Senior Women.
1 Deirdre Galvin, Westport.
2 Colette Tuohy, Mayo AC
3 Serena Tuffy, Ballina.
1 Mayo AC: Colette Tuohy, Pauline Moran, Angela O’Connor, Mags Glavey, Ann Murray and Angela McVann.
2 Swinford: Trish McKeon, Regina Mullaney, Patricia Brennan and Veronica Woods.

Masters Women

1 Adette Gallagher, Swinford.

2 Angela Gaughan, Swinford.

3 Patrica Brennan, Swinford.


1 Swinford AC: Adette Gallagher, Angela Gaughan, Sheila Hughes and Fiona Yeates.

Junior Men.

1 Conor McLoughlin, Moy Valley AC 

Senior Men
1 Kevin Maye, Moy Valley AC
2 Paul Feeney, Mayo AC.
3  Pat Morrison, Mayo AC.
1 Mayo AC:  Paul Feeney, Pat Morrison, Neil Carroll,  Darren Brewer,  Padraic McVann.

Masters Men.

1 Sean Gallagher, Moy Valley AC  

2 Tom Hunt, Mayo AC.


Upcoming Events