Mayo Awards – recognising sporting achievement

2019 Mayo Sports Star Awards: Maeve Gallagher

Congratulations to the 2019 Western People Mayo Sports Star Awards winners which were announced recently. These awards were first held in 1970 and mark their golden jubilee this year.

And in particular congratulations to those recognised for their athletics achievements: Young Sportsperson of the Year: Maeve Gallagher (Swinford AC), Athletics: Joanne Loftus (Moy Valley AC), Endurance: Stephen Donnelly (Ballina) and Hall of Fame: Frank Greally (Ballyhaunis)
They will be among 21 individuals and teams to receive their awards at a celebration banquet at Breaffy House Hotel on Friday January 31.
Mayo AC are honoured to have had a number Mayo Sports Star Awards winners over the years:
1991 Paddy Murray
1999, 2000, 2002 Ann Lennon
2005 Breege Blehein
2006, 2012 John Byrne
2008 Mary Gleeson
2010 Catherine Conway
2011 Mayo AC Women’s Team: Mary Gleeson, Colette Tuohy, Kathy Connolly, Sarah Syron
2015 Sinéad Diver, Mags Glavey
2016 Norah Newcombe
2018 Pauline Moran

Sporting awards are due recognition of the achievements of competitors. Over the next week we have two significant days when those who have excelled in their chosen sporting field will be recognised for their achievements in 2019.

Ahead of the Mayo Sports Star Awards next week we have the 2019 Mayo Athletics Co Board Annual Awards tomorrow afternoon (January 26) in the Park Hotel Kiltimagh.

As usual a good number of Mayo AC members will be among the recipients.  Eighty individuals/teams will be presented with Achievement Awards. A full list of those Mayo AC members will be posted after the ceremony.

Upcoming Events