Mayo AC Summer Series: Foxford 5k results

Foxford 5k, first three l-r 3rd Brendan Conway, 1st Jake O’Regan, 2nd John Courell

Running conditions were good as the fourth race in the 10th Annual Mayo AC Summer Series got underway in Foxford this evening. It was 13°C – a sunny, breezy evening as the field lined up on the Swinford Road. It’s a mainly flat one lap 5k course with a straight run in to the finish beside the river Moy. There were many fast times and personal bests among the 169 finishers.

Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC AC) recorded his third consecutive  win in a row in the Series. It was another brilliant performance by the Clare athlete who crossed the line in 15:28 – one second faster than last week in Ballyhaunis.  He was chased all the way home by John Courell (Ballina AC) who finished in 15:56. John was pipped for first place in this race last year when he finished in 15:59.  Brendan Conway (Westport AC) maintained his great form in the Series with another podium finish – third in 16:12. He was part of another big contingent from Westport.

Pat Morrison was first home of a large Mayo AC turnout in 5th place overall in 16:57, followed by Michael Rocke 6th in a new pb – 17:03.

First three women l-r: 2nd Maura Ginty, 1st Norah Newcombe Pieterse, 3rd Edel Reilly

Norah Newcombe Pieterse (Mayo AC) ran her first race in the 2019 summer series and came home the clear winner in the women’s race in an excellent new pb 17:27. She was over a minute ahead of  Maura Ginty (Sportsworld AC) – second in 18:52. Third home was Edel Reilly – winner in Castlebar and Foxford – in 18:55.

The next Mayo AC finisher after Norah was Paula Donnellan Walsh, 9th overall in 20:54, with Monica Nee 10th in 21:09.

All Mayo AC members who finished will gain points in their club league.

Congratulations to the winners and well done to all finishers.

Well done to the Foxford organisers led by John Timothy with great local support from Ambrose Gaughan, Paddy and Ann Murray and volunteers. Thanks to the Order of Malta who also provided support.

Well done again to our Series timing company Perfect Timing – Mark and Ronnie Naylor.

First three:

Men: 1 Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC) 15:28, 2 John Courell (Ballina AC) 15:56, 3 Brendan Conway (Westport AC) 16:12

Women: 1 Norah Newcombe Pieterse (Mayo AC) 17:27; 2  Maura Ginty (Sportsworld AC) 18:52, 3 Edel Reilly 18:55

Full results: FoxfordOverallResults



The final race the Summer Series is the Ballinrobe 5k next Tuesday June 18 at 8pm. Register at Soccer Club, from 6.30pm. See event calendar.

The Series After Party and prize presentation will take place at O’Neill’s adjacent to the finish line.

On the following Sunday June 23, the Castlebar Greenway ten miler organised by Mayo AC starts at 10:00am at Castlebar town park .

Details (Check for updates)


Upcoming Events