Mayo AC Road League 2010 Results + Westport 5K Provisional Results

Brendan Chambers C& C Cellular (centre) presents 2010 winners prizes to Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) and Gerry Ryan (Craughwell AC)

There was an exciting finale as the 2010 Vodafone C& C Cellular Mayo AC Road League concluded on Sunday with the final ninth race, the Westport 5k. Rain and a chilly breeze did not deter the excellent turnout who ran though the grounds of Westport House and round the triangle at the Quay. This was the 12th Annual Road League and another successful series with increasing numbers taking part, especially from the Fit4Life programme..

Westport 5k Provisional Results: [Download not found]

Gerry Ryan (Craughwell AC) was the race winner in an impressive 15.19 and he also retained the men’s race series crown. Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) finished second in 15.37 and was also second in the league series. In addition he was the worthy winner of the  Most Improved Male athlete award based on his performance over the series.

Roger Barrett (Ballina AC)

In the women’s race Catherine Conway (Mayo AC) was first home in 17.51 and underlined her recent excellent form. Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) was second in 18.11, her consistent form gave
her maximum from six races and ensured she was the women’s 2010 Road League series winner. Colette Tuohy finished third in 18.51, She was a close second in the league and her strong performances over the year were rewarded with the Most Improved Female athlete title.


Westport 5k Women’s race winner Catherine Conway (Mayo AC)

Ballina AC collected a number of the men’s prizes while Mayo AC women won most of their categories. A number of Mayo AC athletes were presented with championship medals from recent seasons and there was a special award to the womens’ team for their achievement in the
European Inter Club Road Racing Championships. Sean Dooher was presented with a special achievement award for his continued dedication to athletics.

Mayo AC Club chairman Michael McGrath thanked Vodafone C&C Cellular for their continued sponsorship and Brendan Chambers for presenting the league prizes. He also thanked Mayo Sport Partnership for their support through the Fit4Life programme, Hotel Westport for their
facilities, and all who helped organise the League races in 2010.
The 2011 Road League will soon get underway –  first race is Kilmovee 10k in April – details will soon be available on

 (Scroll down to end for more pictures of Westport 5k)

Vodafone C&C Cellular MAYO AC Open Road Race League 2010

 Senior Men     Club   points
1   Gerry Ryan   Craughwell AC) 148
2   Roger Barrett (Ballina AC)    142
3   Michael Canty (Ballina AC) 128

1  Sean Gallagher (Ballina AC)  121
2  Tommy Neville (Ballina AC) 100
3  David Mullins (Tuam AC)  60

1 Ronnie Naylor  ((Mayo AC) 59
3 Billy Gallagher (Mayo AC) 39
3 Tom Meehan Sligo AC) 16

Junior u19     1  Daniel Murray Ballina AC  65

Senior Women Club  Points
(Mayo AC unless stated)
1  Mary Gleeson  150
2  Colette Tuohy  143
3  Kathy Connolly 136

 1   Angela O’Connor   128
2   Chris Gallagher   121
3 Joan Walshe 73

1  Ann Murray    111
2 Bernie Kelly 91
3  Mary Walshe   36
Pat Cribben Memorial Trophies for the Most Improved Male/Female Athletes during the 2010 League were awarded to Roger Barrett (Ballina AC) and Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC)

Race result:
C&C Cellular Mayo AC Open Road Race League (2010 )
Race 9 Westport 5k Sunday 20th Feb 2011
(Mayo AC unless stated)

Senior Men
1   Gerry Ryan (Craughwell AC)          15.19
2   Roger Barrett (Ballina AC)                  15.37
3   Eamon Staunton                                      15.49

1 Sean Gallagher (Ballina AC)                          16.53
2 Dave Mullins (Tuam AC)                        18.26
3 Derek O’Nell (Donore Harriers)                   19.02


1 Ronnie Naylor                                   19.25
2 Brian Cusack                                  20.02
3 Jimmy Feeney                               20.25

1st Junior    Hugh Armstrong (Ballina AC) 17.39

Senior Women

1  Catherine Conway             17.51
2 Mary Gleeson          18.11
 3 Colette Tuohy                19.54

1 Kathy Connolly                                20.01
2 Chris Gallagher               20.51
3 Ann Egan (Ballina AC)         21.31

1 Angela O’Connor       20.01
2 Ann Murray                     21.14
3 Mary Naylor             23.18

 Una McGrath leads Chris O’Connell
 Michael Courell (Ballina AC)
Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC)

John Fahy Westport AC and Kathy Connolly (Mayo AC)

Colette Whelan 429 (Mayo AC) and Suzie Cunningham

Also Conor McKeown has kindly sent on more pictures from the day that can be found on the link below,

Upcoming Events