Mayo AC in Athenry

The 2010 Fields of Athenry 10k which was postponed on St Stephen’s Day took place on Bank Holiday Monday 3rd January. Almost 600 participants took part in what is always a high quality race. There was a another magnificent performance from Mayo Ac’s Catherine Conway who won the women’s race in a personal best time of 35:52, second was Elish Kelly from Raheny Shamrocks, third was Laura Shaughnessy from Loughrea and she was followed closely in fourth by Mayo Ac’s Colette Tuohy, who also ran a personal best of 38:34. Mayo AC women took the honours in the team event, narrowly defeating Galway City Harriers. Team members were Catherine Conway, Collete Touhy, Derval Devaney and Una McGrath.

The Mens race was won by Craughwell AC’s Gerry Ryan in 31:11, second was Rathfarnham’s Sean Hehir, 3rd was Mathew Bidwell Galway City Harriers and 4th was Mayo Ac’s TJ McHugh in a time of 33:22.

Another Mayo AC prize winner on the day was Michael McGrath running a fine race to finish 2nd in the over 50 age category.

Full results can be found at

Pictures from the day (courtesy of Francis Kennedy) can be found on

Upcoming Events