Mayo AC Awards winners: 2023 Western People, and Mayo County Board

Mayo AC’s two 2023 Western People Sports Awards winners: Athletics Pauline Moran and Endurance Adrian McNamara.











There’s great news for the club on the awards front with two presentations taking place this month in the county.

Congratulations to all of the 2023 Western People Mayo Sports Star Awards winners which were announced recently.

Nineteen individuals and teams will  receive their awards at a celebration banquet at Breaffy House Hotel on Friday February 16.

This year Mayo AC are honoured to have two members receive Sports Star Awards:

Athletics: Pauline Moran

Endurance: Adrian McNamara.

Truly well deserved – Congratulations to both!


Their achievements during 2023 have been duly documented and recognised here throughout an outstanding year of athletics success for both.


This marks Pauline’s second time as a Western People award recipient- she was also honoured in 2018.


They join a list of Mayo AC athletes who have been Sports Star Awards winners over the years:

1991 Paddy Murray

1999, 2000, 2002 Ann Lennon

2005 Breege Blehein

2006, 2012 John Byrne

2008 Mary Gleeson

2010 Catherine Conway

2011 Mayo AC Women’s Team: Mary Gleeson, Colette Tuohy, Kathy Connolly, Sarah Syron

2015 Sinéad Diver, Mags Glavey

2016 Norah Newcombe Pieterse

2018 Pauline Moran

Sporting awards are due recognition of the achievements of competitors.

This month we have two significant days when those who have excelled in their chosen sporting field will be recognised for their achievements in 2023.


Following the Mayo Sports Star Awards,  the 2023 Mayo Athletics Co Board Annual Awards will take place on Sunday afternoon February 18, also in Breaffy House Hotel hosted by Castlebar AC, and sponsored by Westnet.


This year twenty Mayo AC members will be among the recipients. Over a hundred individuals/teams from clubs in the county will be presented with Awards based on various levels of National Achievement.

This is a unique enjoyable annual occasion, brilliantly organised by the County Board. A full list of the 2023 Mayo AC recipients will be posted after the ceremony.

Upcoming Events