Mayo AC at Craughwell 10

Barry Minnock (Rathfarnham WSAF) won what he called an “epic battle” with Michael Shannon (Kilnaboy AC) in the Craughwell 10 which took place on Sunday March 18th.
His 52.36 finish was just two seconds ahead of the Clareman. Minnock recently finished second to John Byrne in the Irish 50k Championships at Donadea.
TJ McHugh finished 7th overall in 55.38 underlining recent form at Ballycotton 10 (55.09) and another indicator that he is in good shape ahead of the Rotterdam marathon next month.
Pauline Curley (Tullamore Harriers) was first woman home in 58.55, her third consecutive Craughwell victory and her second race win in two days – she won a 5k event in Portlaoise on Saturday.

Paddy O’Toole was the second of Mayo AC’s seven finishers in 60.09.
Colette Tuohy ran a fine race to slice 84 seconds off her 2011 Craughwell ten mile PB  to finish 4th woman overall in 63.06, one place better than last year, and again first o40.
The other Mayo AC finishers listed were: Gerry Galvin o40, 66.37; James Duffy MS 69.48; Mary Walsh o50 86.37 an excellent six minutes better than 2011, and Mary Murphy o50 92.24.

Mayo AC were third in the open team competition.

Interesting comparison with Bundoran 10 a week ago:
Bundoran         Craughwell
Finishers under 60 mins      20                    23
”                       70             116                   109
”                      80             253                  270
total finishers:                       565                  595

2012 Craughwell 10 results are at

Upcoming Events