MAYO AC 5k Series Race 5, Claremorris results

Runners gathered at Claremorris on Tuesday evening (June 11) for the exciting finale to the Intersport Elverys Mayo AC 5k Series.

The curtain came down on a very successful and enjoyable 12th edition of the popular series.

The five series locations at Castlebar, Westport, Foxford, Ballinrobe and Claremorris provided a range of different challenges, enabling all who ran to reach new levels. Apart from a drenching at Lough Lannagh at the first race, the weather conditions were very favourable amid an unsettled summer.

Racing conditions at Claremorris this evening for the fifth Series race were ideal  – sunny and dry 13°C with a light breeze.

The one lap course is generally flat and downhill for 3k via Dromneen and the Knock Road, followed by a gradual climb up Claremount Manor for 1k, a short up/down section, then into the track for a fast 400m to the finish line.

Excitement buzzed in the air as 206 eager runners assembled outside CBE. The sense of anticipation was palpable.

Westport AC runners have dominated the series and they finished off in style this evening with Eamonn Staunton winning his fourth series race in 16:46. David Hickey Westport AC has had a great series too and he was second home in 17:01.

Francis King Castlegar AC won a three way battle for the line in third place in 17:13. He was just ahead of Mayo AC’s first finisher John Byrne 4th in 17:15, and Sean O’Brien 5th 17:20, Tadgh Hanrahan Mayo AC 6th in 17:25.

In the women’s race Hillary Hughes Westport AC claimed her third win in the series in 19:09. She ran brilliantly in all five races, finishing second twice.

Michelle Needham Westport was next home in 20:17, with Paula Donnellan Mayo AC third in 20:37.

Maura Ginty Sportsworld AC was a close 4th in 20:42, followed by two Mayo AC finishers- Colette Tuohy 5th in 21:13 and Lorraine McNulty 6th 21:25.

There was another great turnout of 206 finishers – a record for the 2024 series.

Among them was another huge number from both Mayo AC and Westport AC, and the race was also well supported again by other athletics clubs – Clare River Harriers, Castlegar, Swinford, Ballina, Milltown, Lake District, Tuam, Castlerea Crusaders, GCH to name a few – and a massive number of individuals, all looking to ending the five race series on a high note.


Congratulations to all prizewinners and well done to all finishers.

At the After Party and prize presentation,  Mayo AC club Chairman John Byrne thanked everyone for coming and for taking part the 5k Series. He thanked Intersport Elverys for their generous sponsorship again this year.

Also the Series partners Mayo Mental Health Association, and other sponsors: Shaw Commercials, Matt Bidwell Fitness Analytics, and Tony O’Malley.

He said special thanks go to the 5k race organisers : Colette Tuohy Castlebar,  Kevin Hastings Westport, Joan Walsh Ballinrobe and John Timothy Claremorris.

He thanked John Heneghan Core Timing for his excellent service with results and general support – especially getting everyone to the startlines on time!

John Byrne said there was huge support from a total of 105 volunteers – including members, their families and friends  – all ensuring the Series ran safely and successfully.

He also thanked Sarah Byrne for her excellent work in leading the 2024 5k Series organising committee.


Series Overall (Asics trainers vouchers) were presented by Brian O’Neill Intersport Elverys to


1st Eamonn Staunton 2nd David Hickey – both Westport


1st Hillary Hughes WestportAC, 2nd Maura Ginty Sportsworld AC,

3rd Series Overall prizes presented by Matt Bidwell Fitness Analytics to

Men: Sean O’Brien Westport AC

Women: Paula Donnellan Mayo AC

Top three Most Improved athletes in Series prizes were presented by Leanne McManamon, Mayo Mental Health Association to

1 Madeline Hunt: improved from 30:42 to 28:07 – Intersport Elverys Asics trainer voucher

2 Mark Fitzgerald: 26:34 to 24:09 – Intersport Elverys €50 voucher

3 Aidan Beirne: 30:45 to 28.21 –  Intersport Elverys €30 voucher

In appreciation of the 105 volunteers who ensured the Series was held safely and successfully :  Intersport Elverys €50 vouchers were presented by Tony O’Malley to two raffle winners: Padraic Gallagher and Damien Finnegan.

John Timothy (Mayo AC) led the Claremorris race organising  team once again and they put on another very well organised event.

Thanks to all volunteers and members who supported John on the evening and also to those who provided and served refreshments at the After Party function.

Claremorris 5k Results :

Claremorris 5k top three finishers l-r 3rd Francis King Castlegar AC, 1st Eamonn Staunton Westport AC, 2nd David Hickey Westport AC

Claremorris 5k first three women l-r 2nd Michelle Needham Westport AC, 1st Hillary Hughes Westport AC, 3rd Paula Donnellan Mayo AC

Runners enjoy the buzz at Claremorris track finish line



Upcoming Events