MAYO AC 5k Series Race 4, Ballinrobe results

The fourth race in Intersport Elverys Mayo AC 5k Series took place at Ballinrobe this Tuesday evening (June 4).

 Racing conditions were good: dry, 11°C, with a chilly breeze on the way out for 2k, but it favoured runners on the road back to the finish line.

The relatively flat course has produced many fast times over the twelve years of the series. Personal bests have been achieved there by runners at all levels.
 As far as we can tell course records were set by Conor Dolan GCH in 2014 – 15:49, and Regina Casey GCH in 2018: 17:20.
A buzz of anticipation and excitement was evident again this evening, as another excellent field of 170 assembled at an TSráid Ard.
Westport runners provided
the men’s race top three as they have done in the previous series races.
This week Brendan Conway was first across the finish line in 16:17.
Shaun McLoughlin was next home five seconds later in 16:22, with David Hickey third in 16:34.
John Byrne was Mayo AC’s first finisher in a top class time – fourth in 16:55. Sean O’Brien Westport AC was 5th 17:07 and Darren Flanagan Mayo AC 6th 17:14.
In the women’s race the series winners so far and other top finishers were back in competition.
Foxford winner Norah Newcombe Pieterse Mayo AC claimed her second series win with another great run to win in 18:19. Hillary Hughes (Westport AC) who won at Castlebar and Westport, came home in second place in 18:34. Kate Collins Smyth GCH was third in 18:52.
 Michelle Needham Westport AC – (3rd last week) was fourth in 19:51.
Maura Ginty of Sportsworld AC and Laura Langan of Westport AC reversed their positions from last week, finishing fifth (19:55) and sixth (20:13) respectively.
Among the 170 finishers there was continued good representation from clubs in the West – particularly Westport AC – and a brilliant turnout of runners at all levels striving to improve their performances, and more importantly enjoying it!
It was brilliant to see another big Mayo AC turnout – well done to them all, and to all finishers.
We’ll list all Mayo AC runners in a supplementary post tomorrow.
Well done to Joan Walsh who organised a great race again this year, as usual ably assisted by Christy Heneghan, John Timothy, Colette Tuohy, Martina Gormley and an excellent support crew of club members, Lake District AC members, volunteers and the Order of Malta.

Ballinrobe 5k results:


The final race in the Mayo AC series and an After Party is at Claremorris F12 KX63 on Tuesday June 11.


The race starts outside the CBE building adjacent to the Athletics Track. The one lap course finishes after a circuit of the track.

The Event includes a Series After Party

Race route:

Entry for race is €10. Online entries close on the afternoon of Monday 10th.

Cash only entries on the evening up to 19:45 for race start at 8pm sharp.

Link to register for the CLAREMORRIS 5k:

Ballinrobe 5k first three women: l-r 2nd Hillary Hughes Westport AC, 1st Norah Newcombe Pieterse Mayo AC, 3rd Kate Collins Smyth GCH

Women’s race winner Norah Newcombe Pieterse Mayo AC crosses the finish line.

Ballinrobe 5k winner Brendan Conway Westport AC


Ballinrobe 5k top three l-r 3rd David Hickey, 1st Brendan Conway, 2nd Shaun McLoughlin: all Westport

Ballinrobe 5k start




Upcoming Events