MAYO AC 5k Series Race 3, Foxford results (revised)

..And so to Foxford on Tuesday evening (May 28) for the third race in the 2024 Intersport Elverys Mayo AC 5k.

Another lovely location nestled between the Ox Mountains and the Nephin range with the River Moy meandering through the town.

Race 3 was another ‘no frills, plenty thrills’ event in the well established series now in it’s twelfth year.

Racing conditions at Foxford were good, misty in a light breeze with low cloud cover and 12°C.

There was the usual series buzz as runners gathered outside the Leisure Centre registration area pre race, and also at the start of the one lap mainly flat course on the Swinford Road.

The lap ends with a straight worthy of a Giro D’Italia stage finish – flanked by the Moy and Admiral Brown promenade on one side, and the playing fields of Straide & Foxford United on the other, with a sharp turn right at the end to the finish line arch.

The winner for the third consecutive week was Eamonn Staunton who ran a fantastic time 15:51 and led Westport AC to another series success with five of the top six finishers.

Last year’s Foxford winner Shaun McLaughlin (in 15:59,) was second in 16:11, with Brendan Conway third 16:27. Club mate David Hickey was next home 16:48.

Darren Flanagan was the first Mayo AC finisher – fifth in an excellent 16:57 and an improvement of almost a minute on his Castlebar time. He was followed by Sean O’Brien Westport AC who came sixth 17:19, with a Mayo AC trio next Tadgh Hanrahan 17:20, Michael Rocke 17:23, and Thomas Reilly 17:24.


Last year’s winner Norah Newcombe Pieterse Mayo AC ran brilliantly to cross the line first in the women’s race in 18:09. Hillary Hughes Westport AC who won the first two series races came second in 18:24 – her fastest time so far.

Michelle Needham (Westport AC)  finished third in 19:42. She was also a podium finisher throughout the 2023 Series and came home in second place in Foxford last year in 19:22.

Nicola Lenehan of  Sportsworld AC was fourth in 19:52, followed by Laura Langan Westport AC fifth in 20:21, and Maura Ginty Sportsworld AC sixth in 20:38.

There was an excellent turnout with 161 finishers, including another big contingent from Mayo AC and good representation from local and regional clubs – Westport AC of course, Lake District AC, and others from Sportsworld,  Castlerea Crusaders, Ballina  Swinford and North Leitrim as well as local fitness groups.

Great running all round by all finishers and like the previous two races a very high overall standard again. For many there were some significantly improved times across the three races, as can be seen in the results data – see Rounds 1-3 for comparisons. Additionally quite a few ran personal best times.

Congratulations to the winners!

Thanks to the Foxford 5k organising team who were led by Andy Neary and John Byrne Their crew included club members, their families, friends, and a number of other volunteers. They put on a great event and everyone got around the course safely.

Foxford results:


2024 Series winners so far:

May 14 Castlebar 5k:

Eamonn Staunton 16:18 course record;  Hillary Hughes 18:57-  both Westport AC

May 21 Westport 5k:

Eamonn Staunton 16:18;  Hillary Hughes 18:34


Race 4 in the 2024 Intersport Elverys Mayo AC 5k Series is at Ballinrobe. It’s a one lap course recognised as one of the fastest in the series.

Registration: Ballinrobe Soccer Club F31T993

Don’t forget your Series bib!

Start: an tSráid Ard, finish at Abbey Street.

Entry for single race is €10 at:

Tony O’Malley ran in the final race in the Galway 5k Series at Athenry this evening.

He finished 37th in 18:19

Tony ran in five of the six races to claim the special series t-shirt!

Race winner: Anthony Boyle Craughwell AC 16:24

First woman: Jane Ann Meehan GCH 18:57



Foxford 5k: first three l-r 2nd Shaun McLoughlin 1st Eamonn Staunton, 3rd Brendan Conway – all Westport.

And they’re off …Foxford 5k start


Upcoming Events