Mayo Abbey 8k results

The 3rd Annual Mayo Abbey 8k, organised by Mayo Gaels GAA club took place last Sunday. It’s reported to be a tough hilly course and there was a nice breeze on race day. Well done to Sean Murphy (Mayo AC) who won the race in 30:09 – 41 seconds faster than 2014. Thursday night’s speed sessions must be working for him too. Brendan Hession (Mayo AC)  was a close second in 30:34 with local runner John J Sloyan third in 32:38.

In the women’s race Maria Nolan was first in a time of 41:10, Eva O’Connor second 41:27 and Aimee Bonner third 43:15.

Other Mayo AC finishers were Chris O’Connell 40.01 and well done to newcomer Sean McHugh 54.28.


Upcoming Events