Matt and Regina – a GCH win double at Streets of Castlebar 5k

Irene Gorman (Crusaders) leads James Duffy (Baxters) and Ronnie Naylor (Mayo AC) past market Square

Irene Gorman (Crusaders) leads James Duffy (Baxters) and Ronnie Naylor (Mayo AC) past Market Square

There was a real racing buzz by the roundabout at Lough Lannagh on Sunday as the field of 228  assembled for the second Mayo AC Baxter Streets of Castlebar 5k. Baxter orange tees mixed with many club reds and greens and other bits of the rainbow in a colourful display along the pavement. Conditions were ideal, unlike last May when the inaugural race took place in a downpour. As a result finishing times for many were much improved. Once again the event was very successful partnership between Mayo AC and Baxter, and the event also served as a club fundraiser. Rock Rose House – Mayo Cancer Support Castlebar will also benefit as the charity nominated by the club. It was also the first race in the 2016 Vodafone Mayo AC Club League.

After the start the field wound its way through many twists and turns of the Streets over the first 3k. As they swept around the Mall, Matt Bidwell and Tadgh McGinty were stride for stride at the front, with Robert Malseed some distance behind in third. Regina Casey looked determined leading the women’s race closely followed by Kate O’Neill, with Colette Tuohy in third. The leaders stayed the same as they raced along the riverside Greenway and around the open spaces of Lough Lannagh. Matt Bidwell stretched out in front coming home the winner 19 seconds ahead of Tadgh McGinty to equal John Byrne’s 2105 course record of15:57.

Main St movers: Women's race winnerRegina Casey (GCH) ahead of Naoise Leonard (Swinford AC) left, and Cathal McHale

Main St movers: Women’s race winner Regina Casey (GCH) ahead of Naoise Leonard (Swinford AC) left, and Cathal McHale

Regina Casey made it a GCH double coming home 15 seconds ahead of Kate O’Neill in a new course record 17:45. It was thrilling to see exciting battles at the lakeside line and good to see lots of newcomers complete the distance. Both David Dinsmore and Ronnie Naylor made welcome returns to road racing and had fine runs to come home just five seconds apart among the category winners. Well done to all the finishers, and congratulations to the prizewinners.

The race HQ at St Gerald’s College Sports Hall was an ideal location. Prize presentations were made by Mayo AC Secretary Trisha Carty and Ciaran Geraghty from Baxters assisted by PJ Hall, club chairman. The event was excellently organised by a core Mayo AC committee led by Trisha with great help from Ann McDonnell, PJ Hall, Colette Tuohy, John Geraghty  and Ambrose Gaughan. The course was well marshaled by a high vis army of volunteers and there were ample refreshments thanks to the catering crew in the Hall at the prize presentations. Many thanks too to the Order of Malta and Gardai for their support. Thanks also to Graham Allen assisted by Caitriona of who provided the chip timing and results. Look out for more photos on our facebook pages – soon.

l-r Kate O'Neill (MSB AC) Derek Naughton (Tuam AC) and Matthew Gill (Mayo AC)

l-r Kate O’Neill (MSB AC) Derek Naughton (Tuam AC) and Matthew Gill (Mayo AC)

Prizewinners Mayo AC Baxter Streets of Castlebar 5k, March 13 2016:

Results (provisional) :
Men 1 Matt Bidwell (GCH) 15:57, 2 Tadgh McGinty (Swinford AC) 16:16, 3 Robert Malseed (Westport AC) 17:08
Women 1  Regina Casey (GCH) 17:45, 2 Kate O’ Neill (Metro St Brigids AC) 18:00, 3 Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 18:48

Men o40 1 Sean Murphy (Mayo AC) 17:34 2 Francis Cryan (Westport AC) 17:56
o50 Ronnie Naylor (Mayo AC) 20:08, 2 Michael Sweeney (Castlebar) 20:33
060 David Dinsmore (Mayo AC) 20:13, 2 Noel Feeney (Baxter) 22:04

Women o40 1 Kathy Gleeson  (Mayo AC) 19:09, 2 Anne Heaney (Mayo AC) 20:24
o50 1 , Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC)  19:58, 2 Pauline Moran (Mayo AC) 21:48

o60 1 Mags Glavey (Mayo AC) 22:20, 2  Lineke Beltman 30:29

1st Baxter man. James Duffy 20:29, 1st Baxter Woman Mary Mulchrone 22:29

Teams Men 1 Mayo AC: Sean Murphy, Anto Devaney, Matthew Gill, Brendan Hession 2 Mayo AC: Sean Brophy, Paul Reynolds, James Malone, Keith Holland
Women 1 Mayo AC: Colette Tuohy, Angela O’Connor, Anne Heaney, Pauline Moran; 2 Mayo AC: Reiltin Shaw, Mags Glavey, Mairead Cafferkey, Angela McVann

Race winner Matt Bidwell (centre in white) leads the field out after the start

Race winner Matt Bidwell (centre in white) leads the field out after the start

Upcoming Events