Mary makes winning start to 2012 at Tuam 8k

Submitted by Tom Hunt

On Sunday, Tuam AC held their Annual 8k race over a new one lap
course. Conditions were excellent – a bright day with a slight chilly
Brendan Monaghan and his team at Tuam AC put on another well organised
event. There was a record 584 finishers.
We had one of our biggest representations in the field, with 28
participants including 13 women. As the results show it was a very
successful day for the club at this prestigious and popular early
season race.
The race winner was Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF AC) in 24.10, a great
time and a ‘new’ course record.
Anto Devaney was our first finisher in 19th place in 28.49. Not far
behind in 27th place, Mary
Gleeson was out racing early in 2012 and ran a great race to win
in an excellent 29.35, Colette Tuohy was second woman (and 1st
F40) showing her brilliant recent form in 29.56, a PB. Mayo AC women
easily won the team prize – Mary and Colette were joined by Kathy Connolly
(31.27) and Ann Lennon (1st F45 – 31.53). Other notable category
winners were Jim Gaughan M60 in 30.27,  Danny Green M55 31.48, and
Pauline Moran F55 36.26. It was a great start to the year for many,
not least our ‘graduates’ from Fif4Life.and for the masters who will
be heading to Boyle for the National Cross Country Championships on
Feb 5th

Other Mayo AC finishers in order:
Dwayne Flynn 29.50
Michael McNeela 30.12
Gerry Galvin M45 31.17
Sean Murphy M40 31.56
Owen Mongan M55 33.38
Chris Gallagher F45 34.29
Christy O’Malley M45 34.47
Dave Huane 35.27
Michael McGrath M50 35.46
Donna Gallagher  36.47
AnnMarie Staunton 37.19
Pauline Carty 39.10
Chris O’Connell M55 39.15
Ambrose Gaughan M40 39.28
Tracy Durkan 39.33
Una McGrath F50 39.45
Anthony Gallagher 40.19
Laura Heneghan 41.00
Mary Moylett F40 43.08
Martin Crehan M45 43.24

Upcoming Events