Laura Shaughnessy wins West of Ireland Women’s 10k

Sarah Syron at the 7k mark, finished 7th

The 8th Annual West of Ireland Women’s 10k took place today in Castlebar. As with other events around the country, conditions were breezy which added to the task for competitors.

The race was won by Laura Shaughnessy (Dundrum South Dublin) in 35:41. She finished well clear of the field. Laura was third in National 10k recently in 35:04. The course record is held by Sinéad Diver who won last year in 35:27.
Sara Doohan (Corran AC) fourth last year, finished second in 38:00. She won o35 gold earlier in both National Masters Cross Country and National 10k.
Catherine Conway (Mayo AC) was a brilliant third in 38:44. She finished second in this race in 2010.
Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris) who finished sixth last year came through well for fourth place in 39:10 and first o40.
Times shown from today’s race are provisional.
There were plenty of Mayo AC women among the early finishers. Well done to Sarah Syron 40:17, Colette Tuohy 40:38 2nd o40,  Angela O’Connor 42:00 2nd o50, Pauline Moran 44:43 1st o60, Ann McDonnell 45:41, Mags Glavey 45:49, Reiltin Shaw 45:57, Julie Kearney 46:03, Edel Feeney 47:36, Yvonne Burke 48:36, Annemarie Clarke 49:09 , Mary Roache 49:19, Karen Devaney 51:53, Siobhan Ryan 57:50, Esme Newell 72:32, Patricia Nyland 72:28, Carmel Cloherty 53:17, Karen Ruane 83:47,  Marie Mullarkey 72:28,  Una McGrath 61:30, Mary T Griffin 73:26
Results taken from Results final Newpaper (1210 finishers)






Upcoming Events