John and Catherine win at Mayo AC Baxter Streets of Castlebar 5k (results/updated)

Women’s race winners presentation l-r:  PJ Hall (Mayo AC) Edel Reilly 3rd, Catherine Conway 1st, Norah Newcombe 2nd, Ciaran Geraghty Plant Manager Baxter, Trisha Carty (Mayo AC)

There was persistent rain and a cold breeze in Castlebar as the field assembled at the start for the third annual Mayo AC Baxter Streets of Castlebar 5k. It made for uncomfortable conditions – then the gun went and all was concentrated on the task ahead. Typically, as the race finished blue skies and sunshine sparkled along the finishing straight by the lake shore at Lough Lannagh. Baxter t-shirts – bright yellow and pink – were prominent among the rainbow mix of vests and tops – it made for a colourful scene amid the gloom. Once again the event was very successful partnership between Mayo AC and Baxter. It was also the first race in the 2017 C&C Cellular Vodafone Mayo AC Club League with members competing for points based on finishing places.

 After the start, the field wound its way through some technical twists and turns of the Streets over the first 3k. As they swept through Castlebar town centre Main Street at the 2k mark, John Byrne had already established a commanding lead and looked smooth and determined. Behind him the women’s race was developing into a competitive head to head between Catherine Conway and Norah Newcombe.
As the race progressed John Byrne extended his lead and had over a minute to spare over Tadgh McGinty at the finish. James Ryan looked strong early on and finished a creditable third nine seconds behind Tadgh. Catherine Conway had the speed over the final metres to win the women’s race just seven seconds ahead of Norah Newcombe, with Edel Reilly third. Elsewhere there some good contests among the categories, between Colette Tuohy and Mari Johnston in the o40 race with Colette winning in 20:03.
There was an excellent turnout from Mayo AC who claimed most of the prizes. It was good to see local clubs competing – including, Tuam, Sligo, Ballina, Westport, Tri Lakes and Moy Valley
Well done to all 214 finishers, and congratulations to the prize winners.

Ciaran Geraghty Plant Manager Baxter presented the prizes with Mayo AC Secretary Trisha Carty.

PJ Hall thanked all who helped in putting on a successful event – Baxter, Gardai, stewards, catering staff and all who provided refreshments, Castlebar Town Council, Neil Toner for sound, Order of Malta.

Well done to the organising team:  PJ Hall, Trisha Carty, Padraic McVann, Ann McDonnell, Ambrose Gaughan and John Geraghty.
Look out for photos of event, prizegiving, and presentations to Mayo AC women who won national medals recently in road and cross country championships on our facebook pages.
Prizewinners: (Mayo AC unless stated)
Men: 1 John Byrne 16:24,
2 Tadgh McGinty (Swinford AC) 17:23,
3  James Ryan 17:32
o40 1 Sean Burke (Tuam AC) 17:3, 2 Ger Hartnett (Tuam AC) 17:38
o50 1 Ryzard Kabajto (Unatt) 18:58  2,  Tom O’Toole 20:28
o60 1 Noel Feeney 22:15,  2 Pat Tonra (Unatt) 32:08
Women: 1 Catherine Conway 18:18
2 Norah Newcombe 18:25
3 Edel Reilly 19:13
o40 1 Colette Tuohy 20:04, 2 Mari Johnston (Sligo AC) 20:17
o50 1 Angela O’Connor 20:34  2, Monica Joyce 22:53
o60 1  Pauline Moran 21:26 2, Mags Glavey 22:53
Teams: Men 1 Mayo AC John Byrne, James Ryan, Pat Morrison, Anto Devaney, 2 Tuam AC: Sean Burke, Ger Hartnett, Paul Kearney, Patrick Fleming
Women 1 Mayo AC ‘A’ Catherine Conway, Norah Newcombe, Sarah Syron, Colette Tuohy, 2 Mayo AC ‘B’ Pauline Moran, Angela O’Connor, Laura Heneghan, Reiltin Shaw
Baxter:  first man John Ruane 20:02, first woman Fiona Staunton 26:00

Juniors 1st u19 Eoin Carty 20:58, Tara Carty 24:55

Results updated Feb 28 :