John Byrne wins as Mayo AC dominate prizes Cloonacool GAA 5k

                                                                                    Mayo AC’s John Byrne 1st man, and Sarah Syron 2nd woman at Cloonacool 5k

The second Annual Cloonacool GAA 5k race/walk took place today. Over 100 runners and walkers took part in this well organised event in good conditions on an out-and-back course in the shadow of the Ox mountains.

Mayo AC were again the dominant club this year with John Byrne the easy winner in 15.57. Anto Devaney was second, one of many to check their pace ahead of the Westport 5k next Sunday.

Performance of the day was by Mayo AC’s Sarah Syron finishing second woman, who cut almost a minute off her personal best 5k time in 20.42. Third woman home was Ann Murray, showing no ill effects from last week’s tough masters cross country race where she helped Mayo to bronze in the inter-county section.

 1 John Byrne (Mayo AC) 15.57
 2 Anto Devaney (Mayo AC) 17.28
 3  Kevin McGlone (Sligo AC)  18.52

Other Mayo men finishers . Dave Huane 19.20. Tom Hunt 19.40,
Christy O’Malley 21.06, Jimmy Donnelly 26.01.

1 Mari Johnston (Cloonacool) 19.55
2 Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 20.42
3 Ann Murray (Mayo AC) 21.11

Mayo AC at Cloonacool 5k l-r:  Christy O’Malley, Ann Murray, Dave Huane, John Byrne, Sarah Syron

Upcoming Events