John Byrne leads our Dublin Marathon finishers home in brilliant PB – 2:29.47

Congratulations and well done to all our finishers in today’s 39th Dublin City Marathon incorporating  the National Marathon Championships. Congratulations to our first-time marathoners and to all who ran a new personal best marathon time.

It was a chilly though sunny start with a slight northerly  breeze and a temperature of 2°C as the various waves assembled in city centre. The organisers said a record 20,000 were entered. As we go to post 16, 360 are listed as finishers.

John Byrne was our first finisher in a magnificent personal best 2:29.47, just under a minute faster than his Rotterdam April 2016 time of 2:30.44. It’s a thoroughly well deserved sub-2:30 reward for John after so many marathons and thousands of miles of dedicated training over the last twenty years. He is listed 5th o40 man overall,  so could be in line for a national medal. John will add this to a wonderful list of athletics achievements including ultra 100k in 7hrs:09.33 and 50k in 3:07.40 in an Irish vest.

David Tiernan was next home in an excellent 2:43.0  followed by Dwayne Flynn in 2:53.29. John Nolan 2:55.43 and Eamonn Joyce 2:57.29 in his first marathon  were next over the line making it five sub-three hour club finishers.

Bill Coyne 3:33.15 and Tom Jennings 3:30.05 ran brilliantly to lead our o50 mens team home.

Our leading woman finisher was Ann McDonnell who ran a fantastic inspirational race in a great time 3:54.39. Paula Donnellan 3:58.44 and Rebecca McHugh 4:02.36 – eight minutes faster than 2017 –  were next over the line in brilliant personal bests.

At the moment Mary Murphy looks like our best chance of an individual medal with another excellent run in the F65 category 4:18.44 – over 25 minutes better than 2017. Marcella McDonnell led the womens o50 team home in 4:04.40 and together with Mary and with Monica Joyce 4:26.03 should be team medal contenders.

Completing a marathon is a fantastic achievement for all our finishers – we’re proud of every one of you for this great individual and club effort.

Thanks to all who supported them at various points along the course. Enjoy the rest of the holiday week-end.

We’ll follow up when Athletics Ireland publish the provisional Irish Marathon Championship results and update the results list and make amendments as necessary.

2018 Dublin City Marathon Mayo AC finishers: (unofficial times from tracking)

Senior Men
Eamonn Joyce 2:57.29
Men +35
John Nolan M45 2:55.43
Tony O’Malley M45 3:10.57
John Byrne M40 2:29.47
Frank Cloherty M40 4:10.33
Andrew Hayes M35 3:39.46
David Tiernan M40 2:43.06
Ambrose Gaughan M45 3:23.13
Damien Glacken M40 3:37.05
Michael McNeela M40 3:19.33
Dwayne Flynn M35 2:53.29
Noel Gibbons M45 3:07.43
Anthony Corbett M35 4:16.47
Brian Derrig M35 3:56.13
Paul Damron M45 3:59.56
Donal Tighe M40 3:55.39
Brendan Hession M35 3::01.27
Greg Barry M45 3:53.57
Tim Ganley M35 3:57.10
Darragh Shields M40 3:26.47
Andy Neary M35 3:38.13
Barry Freeman M40 3:12.31
Mark Curley M40 4:16.22
Men +50
James Murtagh M55 4:54.35
Thomas Jennings M50 3:30.05-
Bill Coyne M50 3:33.15
Tony Hegarty M50 4:06.19
Patrick Jordan M55 6:12.12
John Nyland M50 4:06.23
Women Senior
Rebecca McHugh 4:02.36
Maria Kneafsey 4:23.47
Edel Feeney 4:09.43
Noelle Kilduff 4:35.18
Women +35
Ann McDonnell W40 3:54.39
Catrina Houlihan W35 4:53.02
Paula Donnellan Walsh W35 3:58.44
Yvonne Coyne W45 4:21.09
Claire Murphy W40 4:30.21
Karen Clancy W35 4:16.11
Natasha Kelly W40 4:04.04
Yvonne Burke Grogan W45 4:18.23
Kelly Coyle W40 4:15.50
Marie Collum W40 4:19.57
Michelle Kelly W40 4:24.40
Pauline Jennings W35 4:24.40
Women +50
Mary Murphy W65 4:18.40
Marcella McDonnell W50 4:04.40
Bernie McHugh W55 4:55.36
Monica Joyce W55 4:26.03
Alocoque Donnellan W50 4:40.42

Upcoming Events