John Byrne leads Mayo AC home in National 10k – Updated

Mayo AC at 2024 National 10k at Dunboyne (Photo credit Irish Runner)

Mayo AC had another big day out today as members competed at National 10k which was hosted by Dunboyne AC, incorporated in the 53rd edition of their annual race.
Their 26 representatives included junior and seniors, with the majority in masters categories.
Many of them travelled to Dunboyne in the club bus – a big thank you to organiser Colette Tuohy and driver Damien Finnegan.
 Running conditions were good – 9°C, dry, crisp with a light breeze.
 The 10k course was “on a flat left-handed route through the ‘Moor Of Meath’ starting in Dunboyne Village and finishing with a lap of Dunboyne AC’s 400m track”.
The consensus from our group seems to be that “it was a lovely course, great weather, well organised but a tough day”.
Mayo AC’s first three men across the line were John Byrne – coming back to great form in 35:30, a minute faster than last Sunday in Tubbercurry 10k; second was Tony O’Malley in an excellent 37:39, and third Andrew Hayes in 39:00,
The first three Mayo AC women home were Norah Newcombe Pieterse a brilliant run in 37:01 and 4th M35; second with another fantastic run was fast improving Martina O’Connor in 37:58 – a PB and over half a minute better than her 38:30 time in Tubbercurry last week. And Angela O’Connor third in an amazing 41:57, and silver W55. She equalled her finish time in 2022, (the last year the full 10k distance was run in the championships.)
There were some great finishing times among the other 20 competitors. And probably a few pbs as well.
Well done to all!
Championship medals were keenly contested in all categories – and  Athletics Ireland results validation is awaited with fingers crossed for individual category and team medals.
Looking at the club’s current team results – their wonderful W50 team won gold: Angela O’Connor, Colette Tuohy and Pauline Moran in combined time of 2:09.33.
In club team competitions: Mayo AC W35 team were 8th 2:03.32; M35 team 22nd in 1:52.08, M50 11th 2:04.42.
The club’s individual medal winners look to be Angela O’Connor silver W55, Pauline Moran gold W65, and Mags Glavey gold W70 .
Sadly, three finishers were just outside the medals –  4th in their categories: Norah Newcombe Pieterse W35, Colette Tuohy W55 and Monica Joyce W60.
All 10k Championship results subject to Athletics Ireland confirmation.
Mayo AC finish times all gross times/ place in race
Karl O’Malley (junior) 51:36

Senior Men

Richie Hanley 40:10
Senior Women 
Martina O’Connor 37:58

Master Women W35

Dee Finnegan W35 44:56
Eimear Fitzmaurice W40 44:13
Norah Newcombe Pieterse W40 37:04 4th
Paula Donnellan Walsh W40 43:45
Mairéad Bristow W45 45:49
Donna Gallagher W45 42:33
Ann McDonnell W45 46:48
Master women W50
Angela O’Connor W55 41:57 Silver
Colette Tuohy W55 43:36 4th
Monica Joyce W60 49:53 4th
Pauline Moran W65 44:01 Gold
Mags Glavey W70 49:19 Gold
Master Men M35
Damien Finnegan M40 40:22
Andrew Hayes M40 39:00
Andy Neary M40 41:55
John Byrne M45 35:30
Master Men M50
Ambrose Gaughan M50 44:20
Brendan Murphy M50 42:44
Tony O’Malley M50 37:39
Martin Parsons M50 55:08
Brian Healy M55 56:48
Tom Jennings M55 49:27
Jimmy Feeney M65 53:25
The 2024 National 10k race winner waa Sean Tobin Clonmel AC 29:17, and first woman Shona Heaslip An Riocht 32:48

I 9

Overall results Dunboyne 10k – 1261 finishers, of whom 900 competed in the National 10k Championships

At the finish l-r Brendan Murphy, Pauline Moran, Tony O’Malley and Eimear Fitzmaurice

Dunboyne 10k finishers Donna 42:33, and Eoin Gallagher 37:33

Mayo AC group at Dunboyne







Well done also to Tadgh Hanrahan who ran 1:00.32 today in the Mallow 10 mile. Race winner was Peter Somba in 50:49.

Upcoming Events