John and Edel are Mayo AC winners in Charlestown 10k

Charlestown 10k women’s race winner Edel Reilly (Mayo AC) crosses the finish line

The 7th annual Charlestown 10k took place this morning (Saturday September 21). It was a joint fundraiser hosted by the CBD sports complex and the newly formed local athletics club, East Mayo AC.

Racing conditions were good with lovely late summer sunshine as we head towards the autumn equinox on Monday. A fresh gusty breeze made conditions challenging on some sections.

The popular course starts at Lowpark, heads out through the town centre to a rural 8k loop, and then back via Lavey to the finish at Lowpark outside the GAA grounds.

The winner was Jake O’Regan (St John”s AC) who came home in 34:00.

Jake was the star performer in the 2019 Mayo AC 5k summer series. This was his first race back after a six week lay off through injury. Well done to John Higgins (Mayo AC) who chased him all the way, finishing six  seconds behind in a new PB by 40 seconds. John has been steadily improving at all race distances in recent months and clocked a new 5k pb last weekend 16:29. Conor Dolan crossed the line in third in 35:38.

Congratulations to Edel Reilly who won the women’s race in her first race back in a Mayo AC vest. She’s had a week of speed work and had hoped to get under 40 but was happy to finish first over five minutes clear of the field in 40:38. Beata Kotas was second in 46:08, a minute ahead of a great run by Rita Casey (East Mayo AC) third in 47:07.

In addition to John and Edel, Mayo AC had five other finishers: well done to John Cribbin 40:56, Ann Marie Clarke 47:56 1st o40, Laura Heneghan 48:16, Elaine Hession 50:15, Kathleen Kennedy 64:56.

The Charlestown 10k was well organised by Gemma Leetch assisted by Trina Donohue who led a excellent team of volunteers on and off the course and at the presentations in the CBD Complex.

First three men:

John Higgins (Mayo AC) heads for the 6k mark and a 2nd place finish PB in 34:06

1 Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC) 34:00, 2 John Higgins (Mayo AC) 34:06, 3 Conor Dolan (unattached) 35:38.

First three women:

1 Edel Reilly (Mayo AC) 40:38, 2 Beata Kotas (unattached) 46:08, 3 Rita Casey (East Mayo AC) 47:07

Other prizewinners:

o40 Men 1 David Tiernan (East Mayo AC) 36:04, 2 Arkadiusz Skupin 36:55

o40 Women: 1 Ann Marie Clarke (Mayo AC) 47:56, 2 Tina Phillips (Swinford AC) 49:07

results:  (85 finishers)

Upcoming Events